Guest Blogger – Gale Stanley

It’s Friday, which means it is time for another guest blogger to join me here. So please welcome Gale Stanley for an interview and to tell us about her upcoming release.

LMB: What do you think has been the highlight of your writing career so far?

GS: Every contract is a high point for me but the most exciting was the first. It was a short story, The Power of the Purr and it was published in A Cup of Comfort for Cat Lovers. My cats are the heroes in that short tail… er tale. Seeing my name in print for the first time… well it was just amazing.


LMB: If you were hosting a dinner party which of your characters would be top of the guest list and why?

GS: Right off the top of my head, I’d have to say my wolf-shifter, Malcolm, from Call of the Wilds. I based his character on Clive Owen, who I had a mad crush on. I have all his movies, but my favorite is Sin City. The unique coloring and the way the movie was shot made him look even more alpha male. Yum!

LMB: Who are your favourite authors to read for inspiration and/or relaxation?

GS: That’s a tough question. I read a lot and my choices are all over the place. I’ve always loved horror, science fiction and the paranormal. Psychological thrillers and mysteries are high on my list too. I’ve read everything by Jeffery Deaver, Mo Hayder, and Keith Ablow. I definitely lean to the dark side but if a story has romance, so much the better.

Stephen King was a big inspiration to me. His book “On Writing, part autobiography and part advice for aspiring novelists, is a classic. He says, “Writing is not life, but I think that sometimes it can be a way back to life” – so true. Writing brought him back after the devastating car accident that shattered his leg in 1999.

LMB: What can we expect to see from you by way of new books in the foreseeable future?

GS: Sleepless Knights will be released March 5 and I have several other books coming from Silver Publishing. Some Like it Rough, The Gentlemen’s Club: 2, will be released March 19. Hunter and the Hawk, Symbiotic Mates: 1 will be out in April. And I just signed a contract for One Night in Bangkok – no release date yet.

I’m also working on a three book arc that takes off from the Black Wolf Gorge series for Siren.

LMB: What do you find is the easiest thing about writing fiction, and what do you find the most difficult?

GS: I love everything about the writing process, even research and editing. And I don’t have a problem coming up with ideas for stories. I have so many characters and stories floating around in my head. The hard part is finding time to write because book promotion is so time consuming. As you know, getting a book published is not the end of the line. There’s a lot of hard work involved afterwards.

Thank you for having me LMB. You ask some great questions and I enjoyed my visit. And I’d like to thank the readers for all their support. I feel really fortunate to be able to do something I love so much. Books have always been a big part of my life and they helped me through some tough times. And if I can provide entertainment and escape for someone else that makes my day.

Thank you for agreeing to be a guest here and answer my nosy questions. I totally agree about the promo being much more time consuming than I ever imagined.

Photobucket
SLEEPLESS KNIGHTS

A Contemporary M/M Romance R-excerpt

Can Andy and Paul save their rocky relationship by bringing another man into their bed, or will it drive them even further apart?

After falling passionately in love, Andy and Paul are totally committed to each other. But when the two-year itch infects their relationship, Paul becomes distant and refuses to talk about it. Paul is the love of Andy’s life and he’ll do anything to make him happy, even if it means bringing another man into their bed. But is it really the answer? Or will it drive them further apart?

Zach flees to Los Angeles to escape his abusive father. He plans to use his good looks to get into the film industry but catching that big break is harder than he thought. He decides to try his luck in San Francisco. He has no money but if he can find someone to put a roof over his head, he’ll trade sex for security. When two smokin’ hot guys pick him up on the Pacific Coast Highway, he thinks he hit pay dirt. He never expected to actually fall for them.

SLEEPLESS KNIGHTS is available at Silver Publishing:
http://silverpublishing.info/index/book_authors_id/48/typefilter/book_authors

EXCERPT

North Beach, San Francisco

Never go to sleep angry. His mother’s words resonated in Andy’s head. Cliché? Maybe. But it worked for his parents. They’d been happily married for twenty years before they died in a car accident.

Andy understood the concept only too well. His unresolved conflicts had been festering to the point he woke angrier every morning. It was only a matter of time until he or Paul exploded over some minor offense and destroyed their relationship completely.

He stood at the side of the bed and looked down at his lover feigning sleep. How do you fix something when your partner shuts you out? It had been like this for months, Paul claiming exhaustion, going to bed early and pretending to be asleep. They used to go to bed together. Now it seemed like Paul couldn’t get away from him fast enough.

Andy never expected things to be easy. Relationships rarely were and he and Paul were polar opposites. He expected their personalities to clash once in awhile, and they did. But despite their totally different upbringings and outlooks they’d somehow made it work. Up until now.

They’d been together almost two years and Andy thanked his lucky stars they’d met at all. He’d been grieving his dead partner, hiding from the world in a hunting cabin in rural Pennsylvania. Paul had been visiting his estranged family after a bad breakup with his lover.

Fate stepped in and Paul, stranded in a major snowstorm, had been forced to wait it out in Andy’s cabin. Just like that sparks flew. When Paul went back home to San Francisco, Andy followed, and the rest was history. They hadn’t been apart since.

Too much togetherness could be part of the problem. Not wanting to come off as clingy, Andy tried giving Paul time and space for himself. After all they were a couple, not joined at the hip.

Now Andy feared he’d given him too much space. He needed to change his strategy before it was too late. Maybe he could use sex to bridge the gap between them. Their sex life had fizzled out into an occasional perfunctory fuck and he hated it. Making love had always made him feel closer to Paul. He missed the intimacy they had once shared.

Andy slipped into bed and curved his body around Paul’s. Just his lover’s musky male scent was enough to make his cock twitch with interest. He reached an arm around Paul and rolled a nipple between his fingers. Although it stiffened under his teasing, Paul gave no other sign he wanted more. Tonight Andy refused to turn a blind eye to Paul’s icy indifference.

http://galestanley.net/
http://galestanley.blogspot.com/
http://www.facebook.com/gale.stanley.author
http://twitter.com/galestanley

7 responses to “Guest Blogger – Gale Stanley

  1. Hi Louisa! Thanks for having me today, I enjoyed my visit.

  2. I'm going to have to put this one on my to read list.

  3. Hi Lindsay, hope you like it!

  4. Another wonderful post Gale. Thanks Louisa. I *think* I bought CotW last night. I know I found it… It was around mignight and I was up again at 5 this am and then running all day with hubby at work…so I don't really know 'what' I did in that fuzzy hour before bed. But I know it had to do with finding and buying books on Kindle!

  5. Thanks for a nice visit with Gale. I've become a big fan of her stories, well written, great characters, and quite hot!Look forward to future releases.

  6. Thank you all for coming by! Calisa I know you will love your Kindle. Hope you enjoy Call of the Wild. Have a great weekend everyone!

  7. Thanks again for blogging with me. I hope you are having a good weekend too!It has been a pleasure to have you here.

Share your thoughts

