Guest Blogger – Raine Delight

Please welcome today’s Guest Blogger, Raine Delight, who is answering interview questions and letting us know about her new book Fantasies Unbound.

LMB: You have a lot of different books in the works. How do you manage your time to work on them all and how do you keep track of the various projects?

Raine Answers: I try to work on one thing at a time or I start mixing up things. I once had a character in book named for a character in another manuscript. Needless to say, now I work on one thing at a time. *grins* I normally switch manuscripts if I get stuck one.

I have various files and notes all over my computer desk and flash drive.

LMB: What do you find easiest and most challenging about writing a series as opposed to a stand alone novel?

Raine answers: I love the aspect of creating something that expands with each book. The downside? Trying to keep it fresh and unique.

LMB: Is there any genre of book you would like to write but have not had the opportunity to do so yet?

Raine answers: I am hoping to work on an mm story that has been teasing my muse. Hunky cowboys and forbidden love. *grins* Just have to wait till I am done with my committed projects first. 🙂

LMB: What do you look for in a good erotic romance when reading? And what do you try to deliver to your readers when writing them?

Raine answers: A good engaging story with intriguing characters. I love imperfect characters as I feel they have more depth than so called perfect ones.

I hope readers get a sense that love can happen to anyone, young and old, paranormal and non-paranormal.

LMB: Who do you think has been your biggest inspiration in your writing career?

Raine answers: I think JK Rowling is my biggest inspiration. She started with notes and created one of the biggest selling series in the world. I so want to be her when I grow up. 🙂

LMB: As a huge J K Rowling fan myself, she is also one of my inspirations.

Thanks for answering my questions and for blogging me with me. Now for the teaser for your book.

Photobucket

Fantasies Unbound
Raine Delight
An Easter Egg Story
Paranormal/Fantasy Sensual Romance
Released March 3rd, 2011
Shadowfire Press

Author’s Note: This was a previously released book titled Fairy Kisses and Magical Dreams and has been re-edited/expanded for Shadowfire Press.

Can destiny lead a Fae Prince to the one woman who can complete him mind, body and soul?

Prince Aryan has looked all over the fairy court for his destined mate. Time is running out before his mother, the queen of the Fae folk, will be forced to arrange a suitable marriage for him. Finally hearing the call of his mate, he is stunned to find her in the human world. Can Aryan find a way to make Skye his for all time even as he breaks the law for loving a human?

Skye Andrews has had it with bad dates and unsuitable men. As a last resort, she turns to her aunt who brews a love potion for her to find her destined mate. What she finds is that magic can happen….even with a little help of a love potion and a well meaning but meddling fairy queen. Can Skye find a way to live happily ever after with the one man who is the other half of her soul?

Excerpt:

Skye sat with her hands fisted in her shirttails so she wouldn’t throttle her well-meaning yet clueless Aunt Mary. The smoking cauldron on the stove erupted into another hiss, and the smell was making her stomach curdle.

Aunt Mary muttered to herself as she gathered the necessary ingredients for the love spell from various places in the ancient farmhouse.

Skye tried not to cringe when her aunt walked too close to a knife sitting on the edge of the table. Clearing her throat, Skye mustered enough courage to ask, “Is this thing supposed to be turning black and smelling like rotten eggs?”

”Oh my, yes dearie.” Aunt Mary said as she bustled around the kitchen.

Skye blew out a deep breath and tried to keep calm as she watched her aunt stir something that looked suspiciously like toad legs in the cauldron. Yuck. I swear, some days it’s almost too much to bear, with Mary’s new found interest in new age-isms and spells that do everything but what they’re supposed to. Skye looked at the clock and sighed, knowing she wasn’t going to get on the road back to Dayton any sooner than when her aunt deemed it worthy.

Skye tried not to sound dejected but after her disastrous Valentine date where her date just talked and talked about his life and career. She felt lost on the planes of life. With each day going by, it was almost too much to bear as she watched friends and family fall in love with their true loves. This was the extreme to her thinking but her aunt was determined to get the sparkle back in her eyes, or so she said the first night she was here. It was enough to make Skye cringe in horror but she couldn’t say anything mean to the one person who loved her more than anything. Flipping her hair off her face, she breathed a sigh of relief as she watched her aunt finish whatever she was doing to the brew until Mary turned around with a bottle of the foul smelling stuff.

“Here you go dear. All finished and ready to be imbibed by you! All you need to do is say three times: “I wish for my true love to find me” and then within 7 days, according to the spell book I got from a used book store, your true love will find you and steal your heart away.” Aunt Mary said as she gazed fondly at Skye, who was trying to look happy but failing to hide the sadness in her eyes.

Skye took the bottle and peered at it grimacing. It was blackish-blue in color, with something that looked like lightening bugs shining in it, winking here and there. For a moment it was like watching a kaleidoscope of colors, it was enough to make her eyes become cross eyed. Uncorking the bottle, Skye tried to shield her expression from Mary but a shudder ran thru her as she again thought of the men who got away or chose someone else and firmed her resolve to find a love of her own. A pleasant licorice scent wafted from the brew and though Skye was skeptical, she had to admit it smelled better than it looked. Muttering, “Lets hope it tastes as pleasant as it smells or I am going to throw up chunks,” Skye leaned back and gulped the liquid. As she finished the last drop, she put down the bottle and recited the words her aunt told her to say:

“I wish for my true love.”

“I wish for my true love.”

“I wish for my true love.”

Skye turned to the window and prayed this drink didn’t make her sick when she caught a glimpse of a face looking at her. It was enough to cause her to gasp quietly and take a step back. Those moss green eyes seemed to call to her, longing for something and it was enough for Skye to wonder if she was loosing her mind. She looked away thinking it was a figment of her imagination but the face still stared at her; those chiseled cheeks, full, round lips that made her long to feel them over her own and those cheekbones would give a model envy. Skye felt her body sit up and take notice and her panties got moist with her racing desire. Soon the face faded, though it felt like time stopped and only Skye could see what was there. Shaking her head, she said, “It was nothing. Just a figment of your imagination or a trick with the light; he isn’t real at all.” But, why does my heart and mind tell me otherwise? Is he “The One” I been searching for? Skye wondered as she got ready to leave for home.

Buy Link

Bio

Raine Delight is a pseudonym of a self professed book lover and after one too many TSTL characters, decided to see if she could write something a little better. Well many drafts later, Devon Falls series came to together. Check out my book pages to see what is going on with me. My muse is a male nut who likes to leave me to go sip mai tais on the beach and leave me foundering for words; though eventually he takes pity on me and gets my words flowing and characters start settling down.

Personal notes: I live with my own boytoy and two kids. I love Johnny Depp movies and enjoy hiking, reading and watching movies with my family.

Links:

Website

Raine’s Book Nook Blog

Twitter

Author/Reader Loop

Email me: rainedelight@yahoo.com

Facebook

One response to “Guest Blogger – Raine Delight

  1. Agreed, perfect characters are incredibly boring to read. I'm adding Fantasies Unbound to the TBR list!

Share your thoughts

