NaNoWriMo

I have taken part in NaNoWriMo for the last couple of years and have really enjoyed the challenge.  Last year it was even more challenging than before since I had the release of my first novella Touch of a Ghost the day before NaNo started and had just had my short story Driving Me Crazy accepted for publication in January.  So, as you can imagine it was rather a hectic time.

Sadly, although I have technically “won” each year by writing the requisite number of words, neither of the projects have ever been completed.  The first, a young adult fantasy novel, is undergoing some major re-writes as the plot spiralled well out of control.  The second, a fanfiction story and a sequel to one of my other stories, is also in a state of incompletion and likely to remain so for a while as I am constantly getting caught up with other commitments that mean fanfiction gets put on the back burner.

Now for this year I am of several minds of what I am going to do for NaNo.  These are my options at the moment.

1.  The dream world male/male thriller that is currently in very sketchy note form.

2.  Doing a collection of short stories.  I recall someone asking doing a bunch of short stories last year and it was said to be allowed.

3.  Using a random prompt site and totally winging it.

I might even combine 2 and 3 and use random prompts for short stories. 

Is anyone else participating this year?

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo

  1. I signed up on the website, a friend told me about it. But I have no idea how it all works.

  2. Well, the forums are a big confusing mess (at least in my opinion) so I don't know about that side of things but the basic idea is to try to write 50,000 words of a new story/stories, in a month. No editing, no checking and re-writing, just getting the words down. In my experience the quality I wrote during this was pretty poor, but it is good for getting basic ideas down in a rough first draft.What I found most helpful though was having so many other people doing the same thing at the same time. I am at a couple of other places where there are always some people signed up and we have a thread on those forums devoted to the challenge. Everyone in those places was eager to offer support to those who were struggling to get started or finish and just knowing that you aren't on your own makes a world of difference. If no one starts a thread on it at the SP forum by the weekend before it starts I will ask if I can start one in the general forum. While I suspect a lot of authors will be signed up for it, I know a lot of non-published writers like to do the challenge too. There are also a number of chapters all over the place where you can meet up with other people doing the challenge in real life. I have never been to one since November the first year was horrendous at work and I was working every Saturday (which was when my local one met) and last year I was too busy since my first ebook was released the day before NaNo started, so the time I would probably have been going to the meetings I devoted to trying to get some promo work done.The group meets do sound pretty good though I suspect it depends on how the local one near you is run. I have a friend in the US who runs one and she really enjoys it.

Share your thoughts

