Guest Blogger – RC Bonitz

I hope everyone is having a great Friday and looking forward to the weekend.  To start off the weekend right, let’s welcome R C Bonitz here to answer questions and tell us about his latest book.
First of all, would you like to introduce yourself to anyone lurking here?
I’m a busy writer these days, with two books coming out in short order. Writing began as a hobby, sort of, but even in the beginning I thought it would be nice to be a successful author. Like many of us, the dream of writing a novel was there early on, but I could never come up with a story. Then one night I had a vivid dream that stayed with me after I woke up. That dream is now the first chapter of my first book, A BLANKET FOR HER HEART, which is coming out in February.
My current book, A LITTLE BIT OF BLACKMAIL began as a short story, but soon grew into a novel. I enjoyed writing every minute of it. I often scribble off a small piece just for fun when I’m working on a novel, but this is the first to “grow up” as it has.
I just finished a sequel to A LITTLE BIT OF BLACKMAIL with Ike and Jessie as the protagonists, but it still lacks a title so I can’t tell you what it’s called yet. We’ll get there, my story and me. After that it’s going to be Book Three in the series I guess, though I have a couple of other books in mind too.
I spent much of my early working life in the phone company, but resigned in a fit of insanity one day and bought a contracting business. Next I became a psychotherapist for a few years and now I write. I’ve never worked harder in my life or enjoyed myself more. I’m also a member of a wonderful supportive group of professional writers- CTRWA (Romance Writers of Ct.). If you’re a would be writer, I can’t urge you strongly enough to find a RWA chapter in your state and join up. RWA’s mission is to get you published.
On the private side of my world I love bass fishing in a canoe and used to live (or so it seemed) on a sailboat. Guess you could say I like water. My wife and I have five “kids” and eleven grandchildren who keep us busy with soccer games and field hockey and concerts and crew and….you name it. It’s a great life.
What made you decide to get into romance writing?
   
I attended a presentation by Suzanne Brockmann at our local library. She spoke glowingly of how easy it was to be published in romance. So, I did some research and decided she was right, which suited mne just fine since most of my writing consisted of love stories.
What do you think makes for a good hero and heroine in romance novels?
My heroines are soft and sweet, but brave and troubled women who figure out solutions to their problems and go forth boldly to meet their heroes. They are smart and sweet and strong and always muddle through. The heroes are sometimes clumsy with their feelings and leave the heroine uncertain, but when the chips are down they come through with love and empathy and courage of their own. The heroes must always be there for the heroine.
Is there any genre(s) that you haven’t written yet which you would like to?  If so, which genre(s)?
I have complete manuscripts in a number of genres, but thus far have sold only contemporary romance and mainstream. If I could have my wish I’d write comedy, but other than brief bursts of quiet humor in my books that genre escapes me. My favorite romance authors are Jennifer Crusie and Kristan Higgns, who both crack me up.   
What do you enjoy most about writing?
Ah,there’s a question I love. I’m a compulsive writer, have been ever since I started. The best times are when I’m into a scene or a character and the words just seem to flow. I’m like a junkie on a high when that happens. And when I have a scene with high emotion I’m in it as the words are flowing. It’s a high that’s hard to beat, except maybe when That letter comes that says, “We want to publish your book.”
Where do your ideas come from?
My starting idea for a book always appears as a scene in my head, don’t ask me why or how that happens. But, as I write some ideas spring forth unbidden while others are th eproduct of thought and planning. When something has to happen in the plot I have t othink of options and consciously choose the best one.Still, the options come from somewhere in the air as if by magic.  
What are the best and worst things about being a published author?
The worst thing is easy- having to spend my time marketing my books. The best though comes from that- when someone tells me they enjoyed my book or love my character. There’s another high.
Who are your favourite authors when reading for inspiration?
I mentioned two already- Kristan Higgins and Jennifer Crusie when it comes to romance.I’ve learned a lot from Debbie MacComber too and love her books. Another of my favorite authors is Barbara Kingsolver. Anyone who wants to learn to write well should read her “Prodigal Summer.” Her words flow like music to me.
What do you like to do to relax when you aren’t writing?
As I said, I’m a compulsive writer. Writing is like play for me. But, summer days on a lake in my canoe come in a close second. I was a sailboat racer at one time and loved going out when the wind was howling. That was in my younger days though, so the canoe has taken its place.
What are you working on at the moment, and what are we likely to see from you in the coming months?
I’m doing the first edit of the sequel to A LITTLE BIT OF BLACKMAIL, and have a contest on my blog to find a name for it. I also have another book, A BLANKET FOR HER HEART, not part of the series, coming out in a few weeks. We’re in the midst of editing that one for final publication.I just got my first look at the proposed cover designs today.
Please tell us about your latest book. 
Here are some details about :

A LITTLE BIT OF BLACKMAIL 
By RC Bonitz        
 www.rcbonitz.com
A sweet romance  published by Silver Publishing
ISBN # 9781920501778

Links:
Follow me on Facebook   
A LITTLE BIT OF BLACKMAIL is available
From Silver Publishing in all eformats.
At Amazon
  
Blurb:   
A LITTLE BIT OF BLACKMAIL 
When some creep plasters nude photos of Diane’s kid sister on the internet, Diane plans a little revenge: seduce the guy until his clothes come off and take his picture. Then it’s blackmail time. But has she targeted the wrong guy?
Brian’s no stranger to the wiles of beautiful women. Most want him for his money, but Diane has a different objective: to trash his reputation. Furious, Brian resolves to teach her a lesson… until he learns the truth and loses his heart to this daring woman. But to win her trust and convince her he’s not the villain, he has to best her at her own game.
Here is an excerpt from CHAPTER 1:
CHAPTER 1

‘”Hi beautiful. Waiting for somebody?”

She had watched him approach and wondered if he’d try to hit on her. He was a good-looking guy, with a smile that could light up the bar. Was he the right one though?

She sent him her best smile. “Sort of, but then again…”

“Ah, well, may I?” he asked, pointing to the empty chair across the table.

“Actually, that depends.” He was tall and dark and handsome, but he had a bit of a beard. Not a bushy one, more like a country music singer’s, small and close trimmed. That didn’t quite fit Jessie’s description, but he could have grown it in the last two weeks.

He grinned. “You’re waiting for someone special?”

She sighed. How many times had this happened? “I am, sort of, but I haven’t met him yet. I’m kind of on a blind date, you know?”

“That lets me out then,” he said easily, “I’m nobody’s blind date tonight.”

“Oh, too bad. What’s your name?”

“Jason. But if your guy stands you up give a wave. I’ll be around.”

Diane smiled again, silently regretting her mission of the moment. He was cute. If only the timing were different. Not tonight, though. She watched him weave his way between the tables to join two other guys. Dumb—she could have gotten his phone number for future reference. Who was she kidding? Things never worked out easily for her, though if she could do this tonight she could probably make anything work.

The bar of the Hotel Lauren was crowded with people, the noise of conversation and clinking glasses almost drowning out the piano player in the corner. Diane let her eyes wander over the place again, taking in the warm wood paneling of the walls and the paintings that adorned them. Unusual decoration for a bar. Prints by Renoir, Matisse, and other Impressionists made the place look a little bit like an art museum. Somebody in charge liked fine art. Or else they were trying to impress.

The place was cozy though, more homey than anything else. The chairs were comfortable and candles glowed on the tables, though the room wasn’t dark the way some bars were. Not that she hung out in bars a lot. Actually, she didn’t care for them very much, which was probably why she almost never met any hot guys.

She tugged at the hem of her dress and pulled the strap up higher on her shoulder. Again. Why had she bought such a skimpy dress? The black sheath was tighter than her skin, way too short, and way too low in back. And in front. She’d never revealed so much cleavage in her life. But, if you were going to seduce a man, prim and proper wasn’t likely to get you anywhere. Whatever, she was totally uncomfortable. Jessie better appreciate this someday.

Her sister’s humiliation would end tonight—or maybe tomorrow—once the creep understood what she’d do to him.

That was if she found him, and could seduce him and get the pictures she needed without her boobs falling out of the stupid dress before she finished. And if she got away from him in one piece. Five foot seven if she stretched a bit, with long dark hair and hazel eyes, her one hundred and thirty-six pounds of woman would be no match for a big man who wanted to grab her. Strong and healthy she was, but if he tried to hurt her she might end up in serious trouble. Everything would be fine, though. She was going to help her little sister. On the other hand, she could wave to Mr Jason Whoever and forget the whole thing.

She studied a new guy as he entered the bar. With his dark, thick hair, broad shoulders, and that fabulous chiseled chin, he was one good looking guy. No beard, clean-shaven; he fit Jessie’s description of the creep to a T.

If only Jessie had come with her tonight. All she had to do was identify the guy. After that she could have ducked out and left the rest of the deal to Diane. But of course, Jessie was working nights again this week and neither of them could afford to give up a paycheck. And her little sister wanted to forget the whole thing. Just turn her life upside down and let the creep humiliate her without even trying to fight back. Of course, if anyone but her big sister tried to help she might even listen. Jessie acted like such a rebellious teenager sometimes. Well, someday she’d grow up, hopefully, and in the meantime someone had to protect her.

Diane sighed. She’d already picked the wrong guy twice this evening. If she approached every guy in sight someone might take her for a hooker trying to heat up a little business. The bartender had already given her the eye. Apparently, the man took a serious interest in the posh reputation of the hotel. Ha. The creep she was looking for could give him an earful on that score.

This new guy looked like he knew his way around the place. He said something to the pretty young waitress and drew a laugh. Pleased with himself apparently, he smiled as he greeted Mr Worrywart Bartender, who was setting a drink on the bar as if he’d expected the guy.

The creep lived in the hotel. The staff seemed to know Mr Handsome, so that fit. He had to be Mr Brian Smith. What a shame. A guy who looked like he did should be a dream. Not a pervert.

Trembling with excitement and more than a touch of fear, she downed a hefty gulp of wine and almost choked. Her throat was as tight as the stupid dress. Palms suddenly slippery with sweat, she set the wine down before she dropped the glass. If she were going to go through with this, it was time to move.

She gave one last tug at the dress. Abandoning the Chardonnay, she began to drift through the crowd, heading for the empty bar stool next to Mr. Creep.

“Is this taken?” she asked, struggling to keep her voice from breaking. Cool, Diane, the secret word is cool. You have to come across as sexy-sultry, not a ditzy drip.

   
Where can we find you online?
Check out my blog at http://www.rcbonitz.com   In addition to the details of my name the Sequel contest it has links to Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Thanks for having me LM.

Share your thoughts

