A Midnight Date with the Easter Bunny.

A Midnight Date with the Easter Bunny by L.M. Brown
A male/male short story (PG rated)

“At it like rabbits they were, all night.  You should’ve heard them.”

Bartholomew wondered what rabbits the man was talking about.  He certainly wasn’t getting any these days, and from what he could see neither were his fellow prisoners.  He couldn’t speak for the others, but he knew he only had himself to blame for his own predicament.

“What makes you think I’ve got any interest in listening to your lesbian neighbours have sex?” Declan, the pet shop owner, and Bartholomew’s jailer asked. 

“You’re gay; isn’t that right up your alley?”

Declan rolled his eyes.  “No, Jake.  Now if it was two blokes shagging next door…”

“Eww!”

Declan laughed.  “Come on, I’ve got to finish feeding the birds before I’m done for the day.”

Jake shifted out of his way and wandered over to the rabbit cages.  When he poked his finger through Bartholomew’s cage he contemplated whether to bite it or not. 

“This rabbit’s giving me the evil eye again,” Jake commented.

“Don’t talk rot,” Declan called from the other side of the room.  “It’s just a harmless little rabbit.”

“It’s glaring at me like it wants to attack me.”

Maybe Jake wasn’t as stupid as Bartholomew had thought.

Bartholomew watched as Declan fed the parrots, tuning out Jake’s complaining about evil rabbits.  Then they disappeared out the door leaving him alone, with nothing to do except bide his time.  The wall clock showed it was just after seven which meant that in just under five hours his imprisonment would be over. 

It was nearly midnight when the door to the shop opened.  At first Bartholomew thought it was Declan returning after a night out to check on the store as he sometimes did, then he realised the owner would have used his keys instead of smashing the window.

The burglars were hardly stealthy in their movements as they banged around the shop, knocking into things as they stumbled around.  Bartholomew knew Declan lived in the flat above the shop and if they continued to make such a racket he’d surely hear them.  Despite the fact that Declan was his unwitting jailer, he was a good man and Bartholomew didn’t want him placed in any danger. 

The burglars had just reached the cash register when midnight arrived.  Bartholomew felt the rush of his powers returning with the advent of Easter.  Now to show these burglars a thing or two.

With a single thought he flipped open the latch of his cage.  Freedom!

He hopped out onto the floor, changing into his human form before he hit the ground.  The burglars were too distracted to notice him.  He’d soon fix that.

“Are you lost?” he asked politely. 

The burglars spun round to face him, shock turning to amusement when they looked him over.  It was hardly his fault he lost his clothes each time he took animal form.  It was a shame that of all the powers he had over Easter, whipping up a few clothes from thin air wasn’t one of them.

“You seem to have forgotten something,” the first burglar blurted out between guffaws of laughter. 

“Maybe he’s the fag owner’s boyfriend,” the second burglar suggested. 

Bartholomew took a step forward, aiming for menacing, but falling short of the mark.  Rabbits just weren’t that threatening, and whichever form he was in, by nature he was just a bunny.  The burglars on the other hand were much more dangerous and outnumbered him too.

Thankfully for Bartholomew, the silent alarm on the door had been triggered and the police car pulled up outside the door. 

“Shit!” the first burglar swore as he bolted for the back room and an escape route.  The second one followed after him a few seconds later. 

Not wanting to explain his own presence to the police, not to mention his nakedness, Bartholomew turned invisible and lingered around to watch the police apprehend the criminals. 

Declan came down from his flat and checked the shop. 

“Anything missing?” the officer asked.

“They hadn’t managed to get into the till,” Declan confirmed.

“Well, if you find something later, let us know.  We think there was just the two of them, but it’s best to be sure.”

It was only after the police were gone that Declan noticed the empty cage.  “Damn it.”

Bartholomew, who had far too much to do to be lingering around much longer felt a twinge in the region of his chest at Declan’s obvious dismay as he searched the shop for the missing rabbit.  When his search moved to the street Bartholomew knew he couldn’t stay silent any longer.

“Declan, wait.”  He stepped behind the counter as he made himself visible.  His appearance might go down better if his nakedness wasn’t blatant.

Declan spun round.  “Where the hell did you come from?”

“I’ve been here for a while, you just didn’t see me.”

“I think I’d have noticed you if you’d been here.”

“I was invisible.”

“Excuse me?”

“Invisible.”

Declan rolled his eyes.  “Great, first it’s burglars, now it’s a lunatic.”

“I’m not crazy.  I’m the Easter Bunny.”  Declan looked as though he hadn’t quite heard him properly. “You know, visits around the Easter holidays, delivers eggs to the children.”

“I know what the Easter Bunny is,” Declan snapped.  “And I hate to be the one to break it to you, but you’re not a rabbit.”

“Not at the moment.”  Bartholomew stepped around the counter and Declan stepped back.  No one ever believed him without evidence, so he shouldn’t have been surprised at Declan’s reaction.  If it was proof he wanted, proof he would have.  In the blink of an eye he changed back into the white rabbit he had been stuck as for the last year.

Declan hit the ground with a thud.

Bartholomew quickly changed back and rushed towards him.  Odd, he hadn’t put Declan down as a fainter.  Not that he was the first to pass out when they saw him change form.  “Come on, wakey-wakey,” he coaxed until Declan opened his eyes.

“Did I just see what I thought I saw?”

“If you saw me change into a rabbit, then yes.”

Declan sat up and rubbed the back of his head.  “Are you a magician or something?”

“They pull rabbits out of hats, they don’t turn into them.  I told you what I was.”  Bartholomew sat down on the floor beside Declan and sighed.  “I didn’t mean to scare you.  I just didn’t want you to worry about your missing rabbit.”

“If you’re really the Easter Bunny – geez, I can’t believe I just said that – then what have you been doing in my pet shop for the last year?”

“Ah. Well, that was my own fault really.  You see, I only have my powers during the Easter weekend.  Whatever form I am in at the stroke on midnight on Easter Monday is the one I must stay in until the following Easter.  Usually I make sure I’m human for the year, but last year I was careless and got stuck as a rabbit.  I was mistaken for a regular animal and brought here.  Without my powers all I could do is wait it out.  It’s not the first time it’s happened, though it’s the first time I’ve been in a shop for so long without being purchased.”

Declan chuckled.  “I’m kind of surprised you never got bought actually.  I was very tempted to take you upstairs and keep you for myself.”

“Why didn’t you?”

Declan flushed a delightful shade of red.  “It’s daft really.”

“What is?”

“It’s just that sometimes I got the feeling you were watching me.”

“I was.”

“I realise that now.  I meant watching me, like checking me out.”

Bartholomew laughed.  “I probably was.”

“Oh.  You’re gay?”

“I don’t really like labels.  They tend to stereotype people and I get enough of that with the whole Easter Bunny thing without adding to it.”

“You do realise most people don’t actually believe in the Easter Bunny?”

“Humans don’t, but those who are straddling two worlds are aware of my existence.”

“You mean there are more of you out there?”

“I’m one of a kind, but there are many creatures out there, mermen, ghosts, werewolves, angels and demons, you name it, they all exist in one form or another.”

“But you’re the only Easter Bunny?”

“Yes.”

“Seems like an impossible job for just one of you.”

“Not really.  Humans tend to get things organised in my name most of the time.  I just go to places where a little magic is needed.”

“Still sounds busy.”

“It is.  Which is why I shouldn’t be lingering here any longer.  This is a busy weekend for me.”

Bartholomew stood up and pulled Declan to his feet.  “Thank you for taking care of me this last year.”

“You’re welcome, I guess.”

“Just one thing.”

“Yes?”

“If I wind up as a rabbit again next week, can you at least let me have the run of the shop?”

“I’ll get shut down if I have animals running loose in here.”

Bartholomew sighed.  “Ah well, it was worth a try.  Now I really have to run.”

“Wait!”  Declan grabbed his arm to stop him from leaving.  “Will I ever see you again?”

Bartholomew cocked his head to one side.  “Would you like to?”

Declan nodded. 

“Then I’ll be back on Tuesday.”  He started to vanish but was stopped once again by Declan.  “I really have to go.”

“You didn’t tell me your name,” Declan explained. 

“First name Easter, last name Bunny?” Bartholomew suggested with a teasing grin.  “Also known as Bartholomew, which in some circles – those with a lot of overly butch shifters – is considered even worse.”

“Bartholomew,” Declan whispered, repeating the name several times to test it.  “I think I like it.  It suits you.”

Bartholomew laughed.  “Well, that’s okay then.  I’ll be back on Tuesday.  Just don’t tell anyone you have a date with the Easter Bunny, or you might be the one locked up instead.”

With one last wink and a laugh Bartholomew vanished from the shop.  He suspected this next year would be a vast improvement on the last.

80 responses to “A Midnight Date with the Easter Bunny.

  1. Cute story. Thanks for sharing.debby236 at gmail dot com

  2. Thanks for the give-a-way!Yvette yratpatrol@aol.com

  3. HiEnjoyed the easter bunny!SuzeLittlesuze@hotmail.com

  4. Thanks for the cute story. 😀 Happy Easter!(my email is in my profile)

  5. While you are using the long weekend to write, I plan on catching up on my reading!! – So Thanks. Have a good holiday weekendcinders1964@hotmail.com

  6. Thanks for the giveaway.Jeanskpetal at hotmail dot com

  7. Happy Hoppy Day! Thank you for the very cute Bunny story!qbeeqt@yahoo.com

  8. Nice story!And who wouldn't enjoy that particular Easter Bunny?sionedkla@gmail.com

  9. Awwww, that was a cute story 😀 I also like your rainbow bunnies, lolpenumbrareads(at)gmail(dot)com

  10. Thanks for being part of the Hoppy Hop! Count me in, please!OceanAkers(at)aol(dot)com

  11. I loved your story it was so cute. Thanks for the giveaway.sstrode at scrtc dot com

  12. I love the rainbow bunnies! Thanks so much for the story :)~Amandaryn.barker@gmail.com

  13. Cute bunnies and story. Count me in, please and thank you.

  14. Happy Easter! Thank you for the chance to win in the hop. I'm hoping to get lots of free time to read this weekend.irgl7(at)bonzo15(dot)plus(dot)com

  15. Oh, I really enjoyed that; it was a great read.Thanks,Tracey Dbooklover0226 at gmail dot com

  16. That was a fun, unusual take on the Easter Bunny.acm05atjuno.com

  17. Loved it. Hope he makes it back in human form. You'll have to let us know after Easter.

  18. I'm so "hoppy" that I stopped by. Thank you for a great read as well as a chance to win some more reads. Happy Easter!Lynnlareynolds0316@gmail.com

  19. Loved the Easter Bunny story. Thanks for doing the Blog Hop.sjmarv11@gmail.com

  20. Between Heaven & Hell has a very HOT cover. 🙂 Thank you for the giveaway and the virtual bunnies! lol Happy Easterkaylyndavis1986@yahoo.com

  21. I liked that short, thanks for sharing!Have a very happy Easter everyone!!!diall@shaw.ca

  22. Haha, nice. Happy Easter ^.^eripike at gmail dot com

  23. Happy Easter, please enter me in your contestyinyang1062 at yahoo dot comthanks

  24. Thanks I love a fluffy tale 🙂

  25. Great story, thanks for sharing it with us. Happy EasterCathy mcaity_mack at yahoo dot com

  26. That was a cute story. Thanks for the giveaway. Happy Easter.Joanne Be.balinski(at)att(dot)net

  27. Have a great Easter. Thanks for the chance to win.Morganlafey86(at)aol(dot)com

  28. Happy Easter to you! :))albrookeATmeDOTcomAnnexxx

  29. Happy Easter to you!! Thanks for participating. Its been a blast seeing all the sites and reading everything.Happy Easter!Kitanakitana_wolff@yahoo.com

  30. Hi L.M. Happy Easter.I'd love to be included in your give-away.K-leekleemoon66 at gmail dot com

  31. Happy Easter and thanks for the chance to win!andreagrendahl AT gmail DOT com

  32. Cute story :-DHappy Easter Sarah SSarahs7836(at)gmail(dot)com

  33. Lovely :)Happy Easter to you,Suecorieltauviqueen(at)yahoo.co.uk

  34. Thanks for being on the hop. Happy Easter!Melbournmelissa@hotmail.com

  35. I hope your Easter was fabulous, even if it was Harvey the six foot tall rabbit who visited (or was that Bartholomew?) Thanks for the giveaway. :)Siobhannevadafox AT gmail DOT com

  36. Happy Easter! Thanks for the read! It was great! Thanks for the giveaway!Shadowshadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  37. Enjoyed the story and yes, your bunnies.Patriciapanthers.ravens@yahoo dot com

  38. Loved your little story.Happy EasterZSeawitch Reviews @ yahoo.com

  39. Great story.Shannon Leighauthor_shannon_leigh at hotmail dot com

  40. Thanks everyone for stopping by and taking part. Don't forget, if you have not already done so, please go take part in Miho Li's contest which is running here on my blog until tomorrow.A winner of the Hoppy Easter Blog Hop contest has now been chosen – Congratulations Shadow! Do check your emails and get back to me with what prize you would like.

  41. Thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you liked the story.

  42. You're welcome. Thanks for stopping by and participating.

  43. Thanks for stopping by and joining in. Glad you enjoyed the story.

  44. Thanks for stopping by. Glad you liked the cute bunny story.

  45. Hope you had fun reading this weekend. My writing has been a bit sporadic despite my good intentions. I really am the queen of procrastination this holiday. Thanks for stopping by.

  46. Thanks for stopping by and entering.

  47. Thanks for stopping by and joining in. Glad you liked the bunny story.

  48. Hi. Thanks for stopping by and taking part. I'm glad you enjoyed my shape-shifting Easter Bunny.

  49. Thanks for stopping by and entering. Glad you liked the story.The rainbow bunnies are courtesty of Unicreatures – a site that is very juvenile and very addictive. You go for the pets and stay for the people. Great community there, though nothing to do with books. 🙂

  50. Thanks for stopping by and taking part in the contest.

  51. Thanks for stopping by and joining in. I'm glad you enjoyed the story too.

  52. Thanks for stopping by. Glad you liked the bunnies. They are courtesy of UniCreatures – a site with a lot of cute virtual pets and a great community.

  53. Thanks for stopping by and joining the contest. Glad you liked the bunnies and the story. The bunnies are from UniCreatures – a virtual pet site with a great community.

  54. Hi. Thanks for stopping by and entering. I hope you got your free reading time this Easter.

  55. Thanks for coming by this weekend. Glad you liked the story.

  56. Thanks for stopping by. Glad you liked my shape-shifting Easter Bunny story.

  57. Hi. Glad you finally got your post to take. I am sure he made it back in human form. I would have written it so but wanted to keep it nice and PG this time. Thanks for stopping by.

  58. Hi Lynn. Thanks for hopping over this weekend and taking part. I'm glad you liked the free read. Happy Easter!

  59. Thanks for stopping by. Glad you liked the story.

  60. Thanks for stopping by and joining in the contest.I just adore my cover for Between Heaven & Hell. Reese Dante did an amazing job with it. As my first "just mine" cover, I think it will always remain one of my favourites. Glad you liked the virtual bunnies. They are courtesy of UniCreatures – cute bets and a great community – but very addictive. LOLHappy Easter!

  61. Thanks for stopping by and joining it. I'm glad you liked the story. Hope you had a lovely Easter weekend.

  62. Hi EricaThanks for stopping by. Happy Easter!

  63. Hi LilyThanks for stopping by and entering the contest.Happy Easter.

  64. Thanks for stopping by Marie. Glad you liked the story.

  65. Hi CathyThanks for hopping by and taking party in the contest. Glad you liked the story. Happy Easter!

  66. Hi JoanneThanks for joining in the giveaway and for reading my story. I am glad you enjoyed it.Happy Easter.

  67. HiThanks for stopping by and joining in. Happy Easter!

  68. Hi AnneThanks for stopping by and joining in.

  69. Hi KitanaThanks for stopping by and joining in my giveaway. I am afraid that this time around I have not had time to visit more than a few sites myself, but I am hopeful next time I can plan ahead and make sure I have the time to visit many more. Happy Easter.

  70. Hi K-leeThanks for stopping by and entering the giveaway. Happy Easter!

  71. Thanks for stopping by and taking part. Happy Easter!

  72. HiThanks for stopping by and entering the contest. Glad you liked the story. Happy Easter!

  73. Thanks for hopping by and joining in. Happy Easter!

  74. Hi MelThanks for joining in and visiting here. Happy Easter!

  75. LOL. I was soooo tempted to call him Harvey and see if anyone got the reference. Thanks for stopping by and taking part. LM

  76. Hi ShadowThanks for stopping by and joining in. I am glad you liked the free read. I look forward to you email letting me know which prize you would like. Happy Easter!And congratulations again!LM

  77. Hi PatriciaThanks for stopping by and joining in. I'm glad you liked the story and the bunnies. The bunnies are courtesy of UniCreatures – lots of cute virtual pets and rather addictive. LOL

  78. Hi ZThanks for stopping by and joining in my contest. Glad you liked the free read. Happy Easter!

  79. Hi ShannonThanks for stopping by and taking part in the contest. Glad you liked the story.

  80. Reblogged this on L.M. Brown and commented:

    No virtual bunnies for me this year, but lots of writing this weekend again. Re-blogging my Easter Bunny story since I don’t have a new short Easter story this year. I can’t believe it was three years ago this was written.

    The contests at the bottom are long since done, but AE Via is running a current one here this month so you can enter that one instead. 🙂

Share your thoughts

