Guest Blogger – Sharita Lira

It’s time for another Friday guest and this week the house is definitely full as Sharita Lira and her muses stop by to join us.  Welcome and thanks for being here today.
First of all, would you like to introduce yourself to anyone lurking here?
SL: Hi, I’m Sharita Lira and I write under Michael Mandrake, Rawiya, and BLMorticia.
You have a triad of muses.  Can you tell us how that works and how the various muses differ from each other?
SL: Oh it’s difficult, I’ll tell you that. 3 personalities, 3 writing styles… *laughs* They all love to do m/m but Rawiya is the sweet sensual one who writes longer love scenes. BL is snarky and humorous, a smart ass. She also loves to swear, bad girl and Michael is the long winded literary muse. He’ll do a lot of mainstream writing just with gay characters. 
What made you decide to get into romance writing?
SL: I’m a fan of making connections between people, fictional that is. Romance and sex drives almost everything in the world. Despite the fact people shun romance writers somehow some of the most successful authors come from our genre.
Back to the question… The things I read as a teen into my adulthood made me decide that I could try my hand at it. I love writing and because I have little to no interest in nonfiction or any other style, romance was the way to go.
How did you get into male/male romances?  What do you like about writing them?
SL: I came from the slash fanfiction craze. Before you roll your eyes, some of the best authors came from fanfiction. The difference is I write real person slash. I’ve done crosses of rock stars and actors, taking the mannerisms I’ve picked up from their interviews or the way they carry themselves onstage and put them in my stories. My favourite is called alternative universe where I take them out of the real world and put them in mine. They play a part in my movie regardless if they like it or not. *laughs* Sounds sinister but hey it works for me. I’m like a director for a bunch of short B films.
When I got so much positive feedback on my slash and hetero fanfic, it gave me the confidence to submit. Thank God it happened too because I’m learning so much  being a pubbed writer. Looking back on my fanfic now, I get instantly embarrassed by how badly written it is. Lol The techniques and grammar, tenses, yuck!
Being an escapee from the world of slash fanfiction myself I would never roll my eyes at that.  You are braver than me though – I daren’t look at my fanfic stuff for fear of how bad it probably is. 
 
Which do you find easier to write: male/male or male/male/male? 
SL: Oh male/male definitely even though I have a ménage a quartre on the docket. How to keep up with all the names and make sure Johnny, Charlie, and Michael don’t do the same things?  I look forward to doing it though since I think multiples are hot!
What do you think makes for a good hero and/or heroine?
SL: Good heroes and heroines are flawed, they have issues; makes for more entertaining stories. I do like my men and women easy on the eyes but I have a couple of ideas with less than handsome characters. Can’t write beautiful people all the time.
What do you enjoy most about writing?
SL: Besides the sex, I love world building. The supporting characters, the settings they’re in. Although mostly contemporary, I do enjoy describing the things around them.
Where do your ideas come from?
SL: A lot of them from song lyrics, headlines, and things that occur in my own life. I’m a people watcher and a good listener so when things come up, I might create a story for it.
What are the best and worst things about being a published author?
SL: Best? Seeing your covers, your name(s) in lights sort of speak. The fanmail, I get a few ever so often. The adulation from publishers and editors. Worst? Waiting for submissions mostly. Notice I didn’t say reviews. I actually like when people give me a good, bad, or indifferent review. If it wasn’t your cup of tea  I appreciate the feedback to tell me how to make the next one better.
Who are your favourite authors when reading for inspiration?
SL: I love Sue Brown, Tara Lain, Cassandre Dayne, Lisa Worrall, Carol Lynne, Lee Brazil, etc etc. So many authors in the male/male genre. My others faves are Anne Rice and Zane.
Please tell us about your latest book. 
SL: The latest is an MMF from Rawiya from Naughty Nights Press. Living in the Now.
A story about three people searching for love in the most unconventional way. Bryan Finley and his partner Damien Earley would like a third in their relationship. While Damien is on a business trip, Bryan meets Mara Devine a sultry sexy vixen who’s insatiable and wants the same. Damien has other thoughts in mind but Mara does everything in her power to turn the tables in her favor. 
Where can we find you and your books on the web?
The Literary Triad – http://www.thelitriad.com/#!
Michael Mandrake – http://tabooindeed.blogspot.com
Thanks so much for having me!

2 responses to “Guest Blogger – Sharita Lira

  1. TY for having me today

  2. Good to see you, beautiful lady! I enjoyed your interview!

Share your thoughts

