Friday Guest – Elizabeth Morgan

Please welcome my latest victim – er guest – Elizabeth Morgan, who has agreed to be interviewed here today. 

Elizabeth lives in a small country village in Cheshire, England, with two cats. You will always find her on the computer, blasting music and writing away. She started life wanting to be an actress because she loved performing. She enjoyed nothing more than being able to make people laugh, to distract them from reality for a few hours. She studied Musical Theatre in college, but during her second year, her mind started to overflow with ideas for scripts and she began writing plays. Slowly over the following three years, she was writing more and more, channeling her imagination into more detailed manuscripts…

Here she is, years later, hiding away like a hermit, writing like crazy and loving every minute of it.


What made you decide to start writing?

It wasn’t so much a decision. I’ve always had a vivid imagination, and tend to daydream a lot. Throughout school I would write little stories and poems for my mother, or for assignments. I studied musical theatre in college and writing scripts was a part of the course. I started writing scripts for my own pleasure and then one day my friend told me I should try writing a book. So I did, and four years later here I am.

What genre(s) do you write and how did you get into it/them?

I mainly write paranormal and contemporary erotic romances. I love romances. I love reading them, and watching them. My favourite love story is Bram Stokers Dracula, followed closely by The Phantom of the Opera. Both are dark, and one is a paranormal, and I adore all things paranormal.

One motto I hear a lot within the writing industry is “write what you know, and what you love.” So, I do. 🙂

Is there any genre(s) that you haven’t written yet which you would like to?  If so, which genre(s)?

Yes. I am working on two futuristic series, but I would also love to write a fantasy book, and I plan to when I have the time. I would also like to perhaps try writing a steampunk book, and a cyberpunk book, and maybe a historical romance; if I feel brave enough.

What do you think makes for a good hero and/or heroine?

A good hero or heroine is someone you can relate too. Someone you can connect to and grow to respect and admire, and someone you can accept even when they have those moments which threaten to break your trust in them. You want to route for them, no matter what.

What do you think makes for a good villain?

A good villain is someone you hate, or maybe have a love/hate for. Basically, someone you want the hero or heroine to kick the crap out of.

Which do you find easier to write: series or standalone stories?

Writing a standalone book is refreshing, and it is nice to spend time in that world with its characters, and finish the book knowing all is well. But writing a series is a great challenge, and it gives you a chance to watch your characters grow, and to dive into the world and unearth everything hidden there.

Do you write your stories in order from start to finish or do you write out of order?

I write in order. I have to write from A right through to Z. I can’t skip scenes. I wish I could, because sometimes I think it might help, but I can’t. So, if I end up hitting a wall it is the case of close the file, and take a time out from the story, which can be just as frustrating.

How did you get into female/female romances?  What do you like about writing them?

My first f/f story was released by Decadent Publishing in November. “On the Rocks,” is part of their “The Edge Erotica Series.

How did I get in to it? I had the story idea and Zenzie and Meghan walked right up to me. And that was basically that. I never set out to specifically write M/F stories. When I have a story idea the main characters introduce themselves to me and most of the time it is a hero and a heroine, but this time these awesome girls walked up to me and filled me in on the details and I just said, “okay, let’s do this.”

It was refreshing writing to leading ladies, and yet a challenge because naturally I had never written an f/f story, so I was a little worried about how the ladies and the story would come across, but so far everyone seems to be enjoying the book.

If you also write male/female romances, which do you find easier to write?

My M/F stories outweigh my F/F, but in all honesty I don’t find any easier. Relationships are complex regardless of the couple’s sex. So, I would say they are on the same level. Equally hard, but equally fun.

Despite the growing market for same sex romances, it is still a long way from being mainstream.  Do you see a time when they make it to the bestseller lists?

Absolutely. I’m not sure when that time will be, but hopefully one day the majority will wake up and realize that love is not a choice in life. It is a gift. And when you find that special person it isn’t their skin colour, origin, or gender that is important, it is the person inside. It is how they make you feel. It is the peace and happiness you find with one another.

When people become more accepting in real life, then this genre will be accepted and will finally find its way in to the bestsellers list.

What do you like to do to relax when you aren’t writing?

Play on The Sims 3! I’m a huge Sims fan and I go through phases where I have to play on it. Other than that I love watching films, or reading.

LMB: Oh the Sims – one of my biggest procrastination diversions since the first version.  I am a bit behind in the Sims 3 – holiday/abroad EP was the last one I got and I have not played it in over a year – but the Pets and Seasons EPs are calling me back to it like a siren.  I just know I’ll get nothing done writing-wise for months if I buy them though. 

What is your favourite genre to read?

Romance with the subgenres: paranormal, urban/fantasy, or steampunk.

What is your favourite character from fiction (not including your own characters)?

Mr Rochester from Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. He is moody, and brooding, and so tortured, and I completely love him. I love the way he teases Jane and how everything he does and says is him trying to figure out how she feels about him. ❤

Do you enjoy films and/or TV shows?  Which are your favourites?

I love Bram Stokers: Dracula and The Mummy. They are my top two favourite films, but in all honesty I love movies and have a ton of them.

I love Dr Who, and I am very in to Merlin at the moment, but I just found out that this season is the last. 😦

LMB: I also love those series and am completely at a loss as to why this season has to be the last of Merlin.  The report I read said that they had run out of ideas.  Seriously!  I would suggest track down some new imaginative script writers instead of cancelling the show.

Do you like history?  If so, what is your favourite era and why?

I love mythology; mainly Greek and Egyptian. I just found both fascinating since we learnt about their history in school. Greek: I love the idea of gods and goddesses and creatures roaming the earth with warriors on their trail. And the spirituality of the Egyptians is fascinating, and their knowledge . . . It all blows my mind.

What are you working on at the moment, and what are we likely to see from you in the coming months?

I’m currently juggling three projects.

Truth or Dare? – An erotic short

Let Me In – A paranormal erotic short. Although the way things are going at the moment it might be a novella. We shall see.

Charged: Generation Breed: The Turning Point – Futuristic Paranormal Romance. This is the first book in an interlocking duology, which will be the starting point of a new self-published series.

As for upcoming, I recently contracted an erotic thriller with Secret Cravings Publishing. The novella, “Creak,” is due at some point in February and is my first m/f/m book. So I am very excited to be sharing that with y’all.

Please tell us about your latest book.

My latest release is part of Decadent Publishing’s, The Edge Erotica Series. It is dark, sexy and a little twisted, and I have to say, I love it!

On The Rocks
(The Edge Erotica Series)

BLURB: 

On the Rocks is the hottest club on South Padre Island, and Meghan’s new workplace.

If the warped mermaid uniform isn’t enough, the fact that she can’t stop thinking about the club’s singer, Zenzie, is. Everything about the female gets Meghan hot, but when she finally gets her shot with the temptress, it turns out Zenzie isn’t as perfect, or as human, as Meghan thought.

BUY LINK:

http://www.decadentpublishing.com/product_info.php?products_id=654&osCsid=pcl6dk205oo3sv06drd6brkkr3

~ * ~

EXCERPT:

Her warm breath skated down my neck causing a shiver to curl around my spine. She straightened then slid her hands through my hair. My eyelids fluttered at the feel of her fingertips stroking over my temples and along my hairline.

“I saw you watching us.”

I stared at her. “Excuse me?”

“Do you like watching?” She retrieved a few items from the vanity table, twisted two sections of my hair, and pushed the hair clips into place. “It’s all right. You can tell me, Meghan.”

My body tightened at the husky way she said my name. The knot between my legs pulsed under her piercing stare. I had no idea how, or even why she managed to get under my skin, but God, I wanted her.

“I’m not a pervert or anything.”

“I know you’re not.” She slid a chain of small red flowers into the black mass of my hair.

“I just heard a noise. I guess my curiosity got the best of me.” I shifted on my seat. “I’m sorry—”

“Don’t be. I liked you watching.”

My nails dug into my knees as her hands moved down my throat. Her skin like satin—her touch, soft. She ran her fingertips over the top of my breasts.

“I would have asked you to join us, if you hadn’t run.” Her gaze caught mine again while she slid her hand inside my skin-tone bra. “Will you run now, or will you do what we both know you want to do?”

Where can we find you and your books on the web?

Website: www.e-morgan.com

Blog: www.xxxxmyworldxxxx.blogspot.com

Twitter: @EMorgan2010

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/ElizabethMorgan

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/elizabeth.morgan.944

Blog: (Shared with Dianna Hardy): http://notjustastiffupperlip.blogspot.co.uk/

EM: Thank you so much for letting me come and hang out with you all today! 🙂

LMB: And it has been a pleasure to have you here.

One response to “Friday Guest – Elizabeth Morgan

  1. Thank you so much for having me, L.M. 🙂

Share your thoughts

