Friday Guest – Jennifer Wright

Please welcome my latest Friday guest, Jennifer Wright.  


First of all, please would you introduce yourself to anyone lurking here? 

I was born in Arizona, but have spent the better part of my life in Wisconsin.  While I enjoy living close to my family, my heart longs to live in the South – or anywhere where the winters are warmer, and I hope to someday get there.  I love writing, and try to dedicate as much of my free time to it (ha! what free time?).  If I’m not typing away on my laptop, you’ll find me with my nose buried in a book, or with my loving boyfriend debating on what movie to watch and the never ending back and forth decision of what we should have for dinner.  I love spending time with my family and boyfriend, cuddling with my two cats, and laughing as much as possible (cuz I like to think I’m funny 🙂 ).

Some little tidbits about me are – I love horses and cats, I have a really big sweet-tooth, and I’ve been told I like to talk with my hands (insert hand gestures here).

What made you decide to start writing?

I’ve always had a very active imagination.  I can spend days creating a story in my mind, playing it out word for word like a movie for my own personal entertainment.  When I was younger I tried dabbling in writing, but it faded away.  But not long ago – as silly as this may sound – one of my ‘daydreams’ moved me so much, I decided to put it down on paper. What also played a part was I would read the ‘About the Author’ in the backs of books and saw that these people had regular 9 to 5’s like me, and they still write. So I thought to myself ‘if they can do it, so can I’.  My passion for writing took off again with a new surge, and I’ve never been happier or had more fun.

 

What genre(s) do you write and how did you get into it/them?

Okay, get ready for it…I write M/M, M/F, contemporary, paranormal, vampire, shifter, cowboy/western, light BDSM, and futuristic. So far I’m only published with M/M, but I have two M/F stories that are written, they just need to be polished up before I send them in.

How did I get into them? Simple. I love ALL genres of romance, therefore my imagination creates stories for all genres of romance – well, almost all genres. 🙂

Which do you find easier to write: series or standalone stories?

Both. It’s just as easy for me to write a standalone as it is a series.

Do you write your stories in order from start to finish or do you write out of order?

I write start to finish. I may have a general outline of a story together before I sit down to write, but it can always change at any time. I don’t want to write out an entire scene ahead of time, and then come time to add it in I realize specific details have changed and may no longer apply, or the scene is no longer going to end this way but instead another way so I have to change it. There are too many possibilities for change that I don’t find it worth it to write out future scenes. If a scene is good enough to add into the story, then I’ll remember it and add it in when its time comes.

Do you plot out the stories before you start writing, or do you let the characters take over?  Or is it a bit of both?

I’m mainly a plotter I guess. Like I said above, I usually ‘daydream’ the entire story before I even sit down to write it. But a few more recent stories I’m currently writing seem to be more based around the character – like I know I want to write a futuristic story about such and such based around this character, so I sit down and let the character ‘tell’ the story.

Where do you get your ideas from?

Everything. And I’m serious when I say that. For instance – I see a corn field and bam, I’ve got an entire story of a rancher getting hurt in his field and the heroine happens to be driving by and rushes over to help him; or say someone says the word ‘popcorn’ and bam, I’ve got an entire story based around a movie theatre.

It really can be anything that sparks a story for me, but music is my number one contributor to creating the specific details of the story.

How did you get into male/male romances?  What do you like about writing them?

I was reading a series by J.R. Ward that had two male characters on the verge of hooking up. I was so intrigued by it that I went out ‘hunting’ for a M/M romance. I’ve been hooked ever since.

I don’t know what it is about M/M romance that I find it more appealing or enjoyable to read and write about – I just do.

If you also write male/female romances, which do you find easier to write?
I find it easier to write M/M romance. I prefer, and somewhat more interested in, reading M/M over M/F. So I think it’s my liking M/M more that makes it easier to write it.

Despite the growing market for same sex romances, it is still a long way from being mainstream.  Do you see a time when they make it to the bestseller lists?

I hope so. The world has come a long way with accepting many areas of GLBTQ, so I can only hope that GLBTQ writing gets the same respect and recognition it deserves.

I know of a book site that is already working on it. They have a top 100 bestselling LGBT list. Maybe someday the two lists won’t be separate, that everything will be equal.


What is the best and/or worst reaction you have had after telling someone you write same sex romances?

I’m going to quote this exactly…

Pfft. “Then it ain’t worth reading.”

This may be surprising to people, but I actually didn’t argue with him. I just walked away. But I did this because I knew that with the tone of voice he had when making that comment, and the type of person he is, that I would have been slapping the crap out of him by the end. No joke.

There seems to be some controversy about heterosexual women writing male/male romances, and whether they should or not.  Have you encountered this and what is your opinion on the matter?

No, I have not personally encountered it, but, of course, I feel that there is nothing wrong with heterosexual women writing M/M romance.

It shouldn’t matter who we are or what we write. All that matters is that we’re doing something that we like, that we take pride and pleasure in, and hope that others will enjoy the stories we have to share.


Who are your favourite authors when reading for inspiration?

J.L. Langley and J.R. Ward.

J.R. Ward may have sparked my interest of reading M/M romance, but it was J.L. Langley that gave me the courage to write it.

Is there anywhere you would like to visit which you have not had chance to yet?

I have never been outside of the US before, but someday I would love to visit Scotland, Italy, and Australia. I would love to visit Scotland for its…well, everything; Italy for its history (and mine), and Australia because apparently I’ve been deprived of Vegemite and Tim Tam and need to rectify this unfortunate misadventure.

What are you working on at the moment, and what are we likely to see from you in the coming months?

I am currently working on book 3 of the Finding Home Series. I am also revamping a M/F contemporary werewolf novel. I’m hoping to have those two books out by the summertime.

Please tell us about your latest book.

My latest book is Morvea: Finding Home Series book 2. It is a MM/ Vampire/ Paranormal/ Contemporary.


 

You can pre-order Morvea now at a 15% discount at Total-E-Bound.

http://www.total-e-bound.com/product.asp?P_ID=2017&strPageHistory=related

Book blurb:

Keddrick has denied claiming his mate for four years, separating them by worlds just to keep the man he loves safe…from him. Can he resist temptation when his love lands on his doorstep in need of help?

Eli has lusted after Keddrick from the moment the vampire stepped through the portal and into Earth. He had desperately wanted to follow along when Keddrick returned to Pavarus, but it wasn’t allowed—not to mention Eli was under the impression that Keddrick was straight. Four years later his wish has come true, but not in the way he wanted. Barely escaping death by the hands of Wayland, head of the human council on Earth, Eli flees to Pavarus in search of help. The line of events that get him there release a hidden secret deep inside him he never knew existed, and will soon change his life forever.

Keddrick’s restraint towards Eli is being seriously tested, and every day Eli stays with him at the coven, it gets harder. He wants to keep his distance, but at the same time he wants to do everything he can to please Eli. As time goes on, he feels his resolve slowly crumble, his love for the man too strong to ignore. When Keddrick finds out about Wayland’s threat on his and Eli’s life, he is determined to stop the madman anyway he can, even if that means going against Eli’s pleas for him not to.

Through blood and tears, years of love and moments of betrayal, can these two men find their way through the hardships and into a life of happiness in each other’s arms?

Excerpt:

Eli stared in disbelief at the room he was standing in. It looked like something straight out of a Harry Potter movie. The shelves lining the wall to his left, and the walls on either side of the doorway, were filled with bottles, jars and small wooden boxes, all filled with who knew what. There were chalices and bowls, all of them silver, gold or wooden. There were trinkets, candles and some things that he didn’t recognise. The shelves along the right wall held what had to be over a hundred books, some of them giant tomes, all of them definitely old. A fire blazed warmly in the fireplace in the back of the room, with an honest to God cauldron sitting on the ground next to it. But the big wooden table in the middle of the room held Eli’s attention.

All along the edge of the table closest to the door was a row of lit candles. Droplets of wax from the thick, white columns collected at their bases. Eli walked around the table so he could look at the book that lay open on an altar. The pages were old and thick and covered in strange writing. A stone bowl with a strange, oblong thing resting in it sat in the centre of the table on top of a black cloth with a pentagram stitched on it. There was a very beautiful chalice, a couple of smaller candles, a bowl filled with dried green leaves and… Holy hell, this is one interesting-looking knife.

Eli picked up a small black pouch. After loosening the tie he looked inside. Frowning, he poured the contents onto the table. There were at least two dozen flat, oddly shaped white stones, each of them with a strange symbol painted on one side.

“Do you like it?”

Keddrick’s question startled Eli—he’d almost forgotten the vampire was there. Eli looked at Keddrick—if he didn’t know better, he could almost swear that Keddrick looked nervous. Then his question sank in.

“Do I like it? Is this…? Is this all for me?”

Keddrick didn’t speak, only nodded. Eli couldn’t believe it. Keddrick had done this for him? Eli had just found out that he was a witch, and Keddrick had had an entire room made up just for him. His heart swelled and he swallowed hard past the lump forming in his throat. This proved Keddrick really did care about him.

Then why is he holding back from me?

Eli circled the table and came to a stop in front of him, leaving little space between them. He watched the muscle in Keddrick’s jaw tick, his breathing becoming heavier when Eli leaned in just a little closer. He needed to be closer. He needed to touch and feel and taste. The ache in his chest was going to make him either crumble or float away.

Memories of their first kiss flashed in his mind and he was lost.

Eli wrapped his arms around Keddrick’s neck and crushed their mouths together. For a brief moment Keddrick stood stock still, but when the vampire’s arms wound around him and held him tight, he wanted to cry. Keddrick returned the kiss with a fervour that Eli had never experienced before. It was as if the vampire owned him…possessed him.

He happily welcomed Keddrick’s tongue into his mouth. A moan echoed throughout the room. Whom it belonged to, he didn’t know and didn’t care. Eli dug his hands into Keddrick’s long, black hair, while Keddrick’s own hands were anywhere and everywhere.

Keddrick turned them and pushed him up against the side of a shelf, settling himself between Eli’s thighs. Eli pushed forward, groaning in pleasure when their erections rubbed together. Keddrick clamped his hands down on Eli’s hips, holding the two of them together. The pressure was almost too much. He was so damn turned on, in another minute he’d be coming. The feel of Keddrick’s thick cock against his sent a shiver down his spine.

Eli let his hands wander over the vampire’s chest and around to his back, relishing the feel of hard muscles beneath his fingertips. He slid his hands down farther then moaned when he grasped Keddrick’s ass and squeezed. They ground against each other—the pace quickening and becoming frantic. He glided his hands back up, unable to get enough. The feel of every dip and curve of Keddrick’s powerful body had Eli whimpering.

I’ve waited so long for this.

Keddrick devoured his mouth, swallowing the stream of moans Eli couldn’t keep in. Their breaths were heavy and hard, both of them seeming to never get enough air. Eli closed his eyes and deepened the kiss, and was blessed with a low groan from Keddrick. That sparked a new fire in him and Eli pushed his cock against Keddrick’s with more abandon, desperate for a release.

So close, so close.

The empty air before him came as such a surprise he actually stumbled. He looked up and stared in disbelief at Keddrick, who was now several feet away. The vampire’s eyes were wide and written with worry.

Frustrated, he opened his mouth to ask ‘what the hell?’ but Keddrick quickly said, “I’m sorry, Eli.” He licked his lips and swallowed hard, the muscle in his jaw ticking again. Keddrick panted as hard as he was, his chest rising and falling deeply. The expression on his face changed, his mouth opened and closed, like he was grasping for something to say. “I’m sorry.”

Then Eli was all alone and Keddrick was nowhere in sight.

His shoulders slumped and he sank back against the shelf, his breath still coming in large gasps. He racked his brain trying to figure out what the hell had just happened, his mind spinning in circles over that last look on Keddrick’s face.

Was that fear?

What would Keddrick have to be afraid of?

Where can we find you and your books on the web? 

You can find me at:
Blog: http://authorjenwright.wordpress.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/_JenWright
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/JenniferWright
Total-E-Bound author page: http://www.total-e-bound.com/authordetail.asp?A_ID=253
Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Jennifer-Wright/e/B00A2I2F80/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

7 responses to “Friday Guest – Jennifer Wright

  1. Thank you, LM, for having me as a guest!The post looks great. :)~Jen

  2. Hi Jen,(and LM)Great interview. I have only just started reading m/m romance and I'm really enjoying discovering new authors. As you know I'm already a fan of your Finding Home series. Yes, Tim Tams and Vegemite are something you really need to try ;)CheersDonna

  3. Thanks, Donna! I'm glad you're enjoying my series. As you know, I'm working hard on book 3. :)And I'm working on the Vegemite and Tim Tams. Maybe I can get my uncle to bring some back when he comes home for the summer.~Jen

  4. Fantastic interview. I almost wish you'd slapped the crap out of the guy, Jen.Congratulations and continued success with the whole Finding Home series.H K

  5. Thanks, HK!Yeah, the urge to slap him was pretty strong!:)~Jen

  6. Loved the interview and I can't wait for Morvea to come out!

  7. Thanks, Emily!Just one more week and Morvea's up at Total-E-Bound. :)I love that TEB allows their customers to purchase and read a new release 4 weeks before the general release date!~Jen

Share your thoughts

