Blog Hop for Autism Awareness

Welcome to R.J. Scott’s Blog Hop for Autism Awareness.

Did You Know?

Seemingly small changes such as birthdays or Christmas can disrupt the routine of someone with autism, increasing anxiety.

Prejudice

Are you prejudiced?

I am sure that most of you here today and reading this will be quick to answer that question with a resounding ‘no’, but how about you take a moment to really think about it.

Prejudice is defined as a preconceived opinion not based on reason or experience.  There’s nothing in there to say it has to be against a specific group of people.  Of course there are groups of people who seem to face the prejudices of others on a regular basis, women, non-whites, homosexuals… to name just a few.

But what about the other prejudices?  Prejudices against the young or the elderly, the rich or the poor are just as commonplace as those that make the news headlines. 

Is there anyone out there who can honestly say they have never, not once, made an assumption about someone based on a preconception?

A group of rowdy kids on the bus… who hasn’t on occasion tarred them all with the same brush? As a kid I was kicked off the bus, along with every other school kid not accompanied by an adult, because the driver tarred us all with the same brush when a few kids were getting too boisterous.  He got a round of applause from the rest of the passengers as we filed off.  The fact that only a few of the twenty or so children were causing trouble was irrelevant.  In the eyes of those passengers, we were all as bad as each other.  

Now I’m older, but am I wiser?  Probably not, because although I have not been in the exact reverse of the above situation since becoming an adult, I have, on occasion, found myself grumbling about the “youth of today”.  If I stop to think about it, I know realistically that not all of the teenagers and kids of today are entitled little brats with attitude problems.  

Just take a look at this page here for the proof of that. 

So, why do I (and others) make this prejudicial assumption about them?

Maybe because it is what I was taught, just like everyone else. 

And there is the crux of the problem.  Prejudices, all prejudices, are taught to us from birth.  Children pick up things faster than adults, and they remember it.   No one is born prejudiced against anyone else, but somewhere between childhood and adulthood everyone develops prejudices. 

The prejudice you have might only seem a small one, almost inconsequential in the grand scheme of things, but everyone has one or more.  

You might say that you aren’t prejudiced against the poorer members of society because you are one of them, but are you prejudiced against the rich?

Or how about homosexuals who are prejudiced against transgendered people, something my eyes were opened to during last year’s Hop Against Homophobia. 

I believe we all need to try to reserve judgement on others because only when we adults can do that, will the children grow up in a world without prejudices. 

Prejudice is something that comes up in several of my books.  In Someone Like You it is class division, highlighting that even if a person is supportive of their gay son, they can still be prejudiced against others.  Prejudices also threaten to keep apart AJ and Ryder in my April release To See the Sky.  

Of course, I like to give my characters (most of them at least) a happy ending, something they can only achieve by overcoming prejudices, either their own or others.  As a society I can only hope that one day we all get that same happy ending by wiping out prejudices completely.  

So, do you still think you’ve never been prejudiced against anyone? 

Contest

To enter my contest all you have to do is comment on this post and I’ll enter you into the draw to win an ebook copy of my Christmas release Someone Like You.  With all this lingering snow it is practically still Christmas anyway.

The blog hop will be running throughout April, and a winner will be drawn at the end of the month.  So there is plenty to enter. 

In the meantime, you might like to check out some of my other stories, including my latest release, Only in Your Dreams.  At least that is the latest at the start of the hop, by the end of the month my first release from Total-E-Bound will be available, the futuristic male/male romance, To See the Sky.

Since my futuristic isn’t quite up for pre-order yet (unless you are visiting this after the 8th April) here is the information for Only in Your Dreams.

Jay Sommers has always had the power to bend dreams to his will. When he reaches eighteen his powers grow and he discovers he can travel into the dreams of others. But his new ability doesn’t come without problems. Hiding his sexuality from his homophobic father during the day was hard enough, now not even the haven of his mind is safe, especially when he finds it increasingly difficult to resist the temptations of his dream lover, Cory Irwin.


Jay soon discovers that when you’re sleeping hours are as real as your waking ones, your nightmares can come true in both worlds. Can Jay make his dreams come true as well?

Available from
Silver Publishing
All Romance Ebooks
Amazon US
Amazon UK
Barnes & Noble

10 responses to “Blog Hop for Autism Awareness

  1. We all have some prejudice for what ever reason. I try very hard not to judge anyone as I am judged constantly.Debby236 at gmail dot com

  2. I agree that everyone has some kind of prejudice. I strongly feel that everyone is human and have all the same human feelings no matter what race, religion or sexual preference. They all deserve to be treated with respect. However, I do have fears that lead to some prejudices. Like worrying that everyone is part of a gang in certain parts of the city or that groups of rowdy teenagers are up to no good.Karlslats566(at)shaw(dot)ca

  3. Your point is right, it is likely we've been/will be predjudiced at some point. I am probably more aware now and try and educate my children when they make silly comments too. I dont know that I'll be 100% successful, but we try!SuzeLittlesuze at hotmail.com

  4. i have learned not to judge due to having learning disabilities, my brother having the same and my dad having aspbergers. all of us have been judged in some way or another and ALL of it negatively. it does hurt and is a painful lesson how NOT to treat someoneparisfan_ca@yahoo.com

  5. Very interesting post! I try not to be prejudiced but sometimes I do say things like "these _____ (nationals) are terrible drivers." I have recently moved to a different state in the US and there are some crazy drivers here!!! gisu29(at)gmail(dot)com

  6. Thank you pointing out how insidious prejudice can be! I realize that I was quite prejudiced against my fellow students at school. I was twice their age, African American, and childless. To them, I embodied stereotypes I thought long dead, I had to slash my way out of the fog of demeaning preconceptions. I therefore ended up thinking that these kids were our hopeless future, racism, classism, ageism, and sexism thrived within them. But they are capable of learning and changing. Urbbrendurbanist at gmail dot com

  7. Very good post! Sadly, you're right and I do feel guilty when I catch myself thinking that way. It's the things we pick up from our environment/ social background that often stick, even if it is unconsciously. Like with all things, education and raising awareness are so important!I already have "Someone Like You" and like it a lot!

  8. It's amazing how that Rodgers and Hammerstein song "You've Got To Be Carefully Taught" still rings true, more than fifty years later…vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  9. So true, I know I always get frustrated with teenage girls, groups of them drive me crazy. I see them coming into the move theater and think 'oh great, noisy teenagers', it may not seem like much but it is still prejudice. Thanks for the post.OceanAkers @ aol.com

  10. I forget sometimes that there are other prejudices than the so-called 'normal' ones we deal with on a daily basis….thanks foe the reminder.chellebee66(at)gmail(dot)dom