Guest Blogger – Morticia Knight

Please welcome my latest guest, Morticia Knight, who is here to answer my nosy questions and talk about her latest book.

  
First of all, please would you introduce yourself to anyone lurking here? 

Here’s the official bio that has been certified for human consumption:
Erotic Romance author Morticia Knight enjoys a good saucy tale, with MM and MMF pairings. Since she loves several genres, you may find your heroes in a contemporary, historical, paranormal or sci-fi setting. One of her passions is bringing people’s fantasies to life on the page, because life is too short for even one boring moment. Her stories are volcanic in heat, deep in emotion, and sprinkled with doses of humor. 

When not indulging in her passion for books, she loves the outdoors, film and music. The Pacific Northwest is the ideal spot to enjoy both hiking and beachcombing. Once upon a time she was the singer in an indie rock band that toured the West Coast and charted on U.S. college radio. She currently resides on the northern coast of Oregon, where the constant rain and fog remind her of visits to her family in England and Scotland when she was a child.

She is currently working on a new historical MM series, as well as a steampunk horror and sci-fi ménage.

What made you decide to start writing?

If I remember correctly, it was boredom! I had no brothers or sisters my age, and no nearby playmates. Both of my parents worked, so it was my duty to entertain myself. 

What genre(s) do you write and how did you get into it/them?

As Morticia Knight I write MM and MMF erotic romance. But in other incarnations, MF and MFM erotic, as well as MF mainstream sci-fi/dystopian romance. It’s hard to keep track of *wink*

What do you think makes for a good hero and/or heroine?

Someone with a spine, but not too overbearing. I like it when my protagonists have ethical and moral issues that they’re struggling with, as well as whatever outlandish situation has just been thrown at them. You know, like life 😉

What do you think makes for a good villain?

Someone oozing with evil – as in, no regard for others. It’s all about them. Wait – maybe I’m talking about my ex-boyfriends.

Which do you find easier to write: series or standalone stories?

Good question! I’ve recently been focusing all of my energy on series, and at first, I thought they were going to be an enormous pain – and in some ways, they are. You have to keep track of a lot of information to keep the continuity and details correct. However, now that I’ve completed one, and begun another – I think it will be more difficult to do a standalone, as you have to wrap up everything in one go – and sometimes you’re not ready to leave those characters or their world quite yet.

What do you enjoy most about writing?

The freedom to express whatever I want; to create a world and people and situations. 

Do you write your stories in order from start to finish or do you write out of order?

If I’m stuck, but I already know where the story is going – which is most of the time – I will jump to whatever section is speaking to me, and get it out of my system. That way the writing stays fresher and more immediate.

Do you plot out the stories before you start writing, or do you let the characters take over?  Or is it a bit of both?

A bit of both. I have a complete outline – the beginning, middle and end, with characters and conflict. But sometimes those pesky characters just do whatever they feel like. Like kids, they don’t listen to mom.

Where do you get your ideas from?

Driving without the radio on and letting my mind wander. I’ve struggled with insomnia as well, and when I was a kid would make up stories in my head to help me fall asleep.

What kind of research do you do?

For example, in my current series, Uniform Encounters, I spent a lot of time on the official website for the city of Mesa, AZ where the story takes place. For my firemen, police and medics, I went to their sites, read job descriptions, and researched general procedures and such. For the Native American character, I had a lot help from my editor, who ironically worked in a position with Indian Affairs right outside of Mesa!  It was one of those weird synchronistic moments – I had no idea she did that before I submitted the story.

How did you get into male/male romances?  What do you like about writing them?

This is a question for my therapist. But seriously folks, most of the closest people to me throughout my life have been gay. I’ve lived with a gay man for the last seven years, and he is my absolute best friend in the world. To say that I’ve heard every story relating to the struggle, fears, insecurities, sexual interests and joys of a gay man would be an understatement.

Despite the growing market for same sex romances, it is still a long way from being mainstream.  Do you see a time when they make it to the bestseller lists?

As acceptance within the general population grows, then I would like to say yes, as the idea of acceptance is my hope and wish.

What is the best and/or worst reaction you have had after telling someone you write same sex romances?

I haven’t had any horrible reactions – yet. But most of the people I associate with are open-minded, or support gay rights. For people I know more casually, I get a sort of shocked look, and a “Really?” A strictly hetero guy that I know from a writing group felt compelled to read one of my books because I was published, and admitted that the blow job scenes turned him on. I thought that was quite forthcoming and mature of him. Perhaps a little TMI.

There seems to be some controversy about heterosexual women writing male/male romances, and whether they should or not.  Have you encountered this and what is your opinion on the matter?

I can understand the controversy, depending on a person’s mind set. However, as several of my gay friends have told me – including my partner – they are many times more comfortable with female friends and relate to women better in a non-sexual sense. I’d like to think that women have an innate compassion regarding human emotions and feelings – some women that is. One could also ask why the primary readers of MM romance are women – and I think it is for the same reason. 

My partner, and another close gay friend and his partner think it’s awesome, and read my stories – and I care more about their opinion. Besides, what’s not to like about two or more hot males in one story? *giggle*

Why did you choose to go down the self-publishing route?

I’m primarily trad published right now as I have so many commitments – who has the time! But I did start out self-pubbed to have more control. I have one short story still out there – a MFM ménage – and I may do more in the future. I chose it initially because I’m a control freak 😉

If you have also been published via a traditional publisher, which do you prefer?

Although I realize that it isn’t for everyone, for me personally I do still like the support that traditional publishing offers. I have free professional editors, a free awesome cover designer, and am in the fortunate position of also receiving promotional and marketing support from my publishers – as well as additional distributing resources. What’s not to prefer?

What do you like to do to relax when you aren’t writing?

Spend time with my family, go on road trips, try new restaurants, hike new trails. My partner and I are also avid film buffs and video game players. Rock Band or Diablo anyone?

Do you enjoy films and/or TV shows?  Which are your favourites?

Of course! So many to choose from, but I am an absolute LOTR and Hobbit geek – I’m about to pee myself waiting for the next instalment. In television it would be True Blood, Game of Thrones, The Tudors, Dexter, Breaking Bad and Being Human (the Brit version, not the US – that one sucks, and not in a good way)

Do you like to travel?  What are your favourite places to visit?

Love it! Movie locations, gorgeous vistas, anywhere I’ve never been.

Is there anywhere you would like to visit which you have not had chance to yet?

Prague, China and New Zealand. The last one should be obvious 😉

What are you working on at the moment, and what are we likely to see from you in the coming months?

This next series is MM of course, and I am keeping it a bit under wraps. However, I can let you know that it is set in a recent historical era, is a serialisation, and involves Hollywood. This is me pretending to be mysterious.

Please tell us about your latest book.  

Native American Quinn and Detective Jake come from two opposing worlds. But when opposites attract, the result is explosive.

The Bondage Butcher has just claimed his third victim, and newly promoted homicide detective Jake Gutierrez is anxious to speak to the one man who has been intimate with all three victims—Quinn Verdugo. The reclusive and mysterious artist and poet stays just out of Jake’s grasp, until one night when they catch him trespassing at his ancestor’s ancient ruins.

Quinn is devastated by the recent murders, and for the men he once dallied with. Not trusting his heart to anyone since a cruel rejection in his teens, he trusts the police department of Mesa, Arizona even less. He is determined to find the bastard who is committing these gruesome murders, and take care of things himself.

When Jake and Quinn finally meet face to face in the interrogation room, both men are startled at the direction things take. Agreeing to work together, they have no idea the dangers they have yet to face. But what is more dangerous – the murderer, or the spark that has been created between the two very combustible men?

You can pick it up here:

Or at the usual outlets.

Where can we find you and your books on the web?

or @morticiaknight on twitter, and Morticia Knight on Facebook.

Thank you for having me here today!

Share your thoughts

