The Good, the Bad & the Ugly

The Good

Let’s start with the good reviews first.  We’ll get to the rest a little later.

Cat at MM Good Book Reviews has reviewed the re-released The Other Man.  Since I have never seen any reviews for the story when it was released back at the start of the year as part of the Silver Presents anthology, this is actually the first review for this one.  That it is a 5 hearts review came as a huge surprise.

If you like a story that keeps you on the edge of your seat and some really hot sex this one is a must read”

Full review here.

Susan 64 at Hearts on Fire Reviews has given Between Good & Evil, the second installment of the Heavenly Sins trilogy 4 stars. 

Excellent follow up to Between Heaven & Hell.”

Full review here.

In case anyone else is wondering if the threesome will ever become a foursome – the answer to that question is a definite no.  Of course that doesn’t mean there aren’t going to be things in the final book that will annoy the hell out of other readers (since I seem to have a talent for that) but there will only ever been the three of them in their relationship.

Oh, and since it apparently isn’t very clear (my fault I guess), Alastor was never an angel, only human before he became a demon.

Another good review for Between Good & Evil has come from Venus Junkie, who you may recall from my last post about reviews, over at Amazon. 

Venue Junkie has given the book 5 stars and you can find the review here.

The last of the good reviews is from Rainbow Book Reviews, who have reviewed To See the Sky.

“I truly enjoyed this story, even more than I had anticipated.”  Christy Duke.

The full review is here.  On the Amazon post of the review it is rated with 4 stars.

The Bad

Sticking with this book, we now get to the bad, and there is a lot more of it.  I’m sad to see that my first book with Total-E-Bound has been mostly disliked by reviewers.  I’m not talking about Goodreads this time either.  I daren’t even go there to see what they are saying about this one.

First of all, back to MM Good Book Reviews.  Thommie kindly gave the book a fair review, giving the story 2.5 hearts.  You can read the review here.

Hearts on Fire, another site known for fair reviews has also reviewed it.  Vivian gave the story 2 hearts.

Both reviewers seem to have the same problems with the book and that brings me round to…

The Ugly

Clumsy execution.
Characters weren’t deeply developed.
Plot underdeveloped.
World building issues.

These aren’t the first reviewers to say these types of things about my stories.  Goodness knows the reason I now stay away from Goodreads is because of two reviews that were like a punch to the gut last year. They aren’t the only bad reviews I have over there, but they were the proverbial straw that broke the camels back and were the reason I deleted my account there.

One was from Elspeth who referred to Let Down Your Hair as a load of shit and said she wished she could get her money back.  She also complained about lack of character development, amongst other things.

And then there was Amy.  Now Amy has faithfully reviewed more of my books than anyone else.  She has, undoubtedly, given my books a bloody good try.  Honestly, probably more than I would have as a reader.  The last review of hers I read began with “I don’t know why I bother with this author…”

With so many criticisms of my stories from so many different sources, I am starting to think she is probably right.  The truth is often ugly, but it is, at the end of the day, the truth.

I had intended to write further stories set in the futuristic world of To See the Sky.  However, it is abundantly clear to me that the stories I had in mind would have the same problems with the world building as this first one apparently has.  I have therefore taken the decision not to write any more about that world.  The other problems I can work on and try to improve, but this one I simply cannot without literally re-writing the world itself and with one book already out there, to do so would be pretty impossible.

I have one more book contracted with Total-E-Bound for release in the New Year. I hope that one will not be as big a flop as the first.

I am working on the final Heavenly Sins book (well, I am when I am motivated, which is quite rare these days).

After that…. I honestly don’t know.
 

4 responses to “The Good, the Bad & the Ugly

  1. LM, I loved “Let Down Your Hair”,”Only In Your Dreams”, and “Touch of a Ghost”. You have a way of taking something and giving it a twist that works. Yes, your stories can be a little lighter than others, but that's not a bad thing. What I read depends on my mood and how trying the day has been.

    Keep going. Learn every day like we all do. I'd miss your books.

    *hugs*

  2. Thanks, Alison.

    I don't know that I could ever stop writing, though quietly withdrawing from the publishing world is certainly an option I have considered this last year.

  3. I will be the first to say I am not a literary critic, but I honestly like every book I've read that you have written. Sometimes it just a matter of taste, but your books are the first I read when I get them from whether Silver or Total E-bound. Please never stop writing or publishing your books..they are appreciated.

  4. Thanks, Elizabeth, that's very sweet of you.

    TEB have had my editor go over the story again and they are standing by me with the story. I may at some point change my mind about writing more about the world, but at this point I am leaving it well alone.

    I am taking a break right now and catching up on my reading and hope to work up some motivation when November and NaNoWriMo comes round.

    Thanks again for your kind comments. They are very much appreciated.