Guest Blogger M K Schiller

Hello everyone, please welcome my latest guest, M K Schiller to my blog.  Thanks for blogging with me today.

First of all, please would you introduce yourself to anyone lurking here? 

Hello Lurkers, my name is MK Schiller and I’m thrilled to be here. Thank you, LM for inviting me to blog with you. I am a hopeless romantic in a hopelessly pragmatic world. Writing is my passion, but with a full time life and two busy teenagers, it proves difficult. But in the quiet dark of night, I sit by the warm glow of a computer monitor, and attempt to conjure up passionate heart-warming stories with plenty of humour.

I started imagining stories at a very young age. In fact, friends started making requests for stories where they were featured as the heroine and the object of their affection was the hero. You’ve heard of fan fiction… this was friend fiction.

Even with that, it took many years to realize my dream of becoming a published author. I hope you enjoy my stories and always find The Happily Ever After in every endeavour.

What genre(s) do you write and how did you get into it/them?

I write m/f contemporary romances with spice right now.

Is there any genre(s) that you haven’t written yet which you would like to?  If so, which genre(s)?

I would actually love to write m/m romance, but I’m going to need to explore the genre further and find the right story idea to do it justice.

What do you think makes for a good hero and/or heroine?

I believe the more real the characters sound, the better. I also try to incorporate traits I appreciate in people such as a sense of humour (love snarky cynical), honour, passion, and compassion.

Do you write your stories in order from start to finish or do you write out of order?

I write it from start to finish but then go back and polish it up. I may add in a few scenes or take out others if I don’t think they flow well.

Where do you get your ideas from?

Most of my ideas are a take from real life. I change the names to protect the innocent, and reword dialogue/change it to make it work for the storyline, but for the most part my life is fodder for my craft.

What are the best and worst things about being a published author?

The best thing is interacting with readers. It’s great to see my work out there, and people appreciating it. The worst is the fear that the book you’re putting out may not be received well.

What is your favourite genre to write/read?

I typically read what I write – m/f contemporary romances, but I’ve been reading some m/m work too.

If you could have any magical power at all, what would it be?

To magically have all the ideas in my head just appear on the paper without having to type, edit, and spell check.

What do you like to do to relax when you aren’t writing?

I read, watch a movie, and listen to music.

Who are your favourite authors when reading for inspiration?

I like Colleen Hoover and Abbi Glines. I also enjoy EL James who was my original inspiration to write.

Do you enjoy films and/or TV shows?  Which are your favourites?

Walking Dead and The Mindy Show. I love the depth of characters in the first, and the comedy in the second cracks me up.

What are you working on at the moment, and what are we likely to see from you in the coming months?

The next thing I have coming out is a novella in Totally Bound’s Paramour collection in February. It’s an older woman with a younger, hot, billionaire. There are four stories with this theme.  Needless to say, it was a great deal of fun to write!

https://www.totallybound.com/lucky-fall?collection_id=378

Everyone tells him he needs to move on, but how can a man function without his heart?

Ten-year-old Caleb Tanner wants nothing to do with Sylvie Cranston, the annoying weird girl who moves next door to him and gets him in trouble for swearing. But at twelve, they become friends when he teaches her how to hook a fishing line and she shows him the value of a selfless act. At fourteen, he falls in love with her.

At sixteen, she dies.

Or so he’s told. But Cal never believes it. Sylvie has become part of his soul. He knows her like the steady beating of his own heart. He’d know if she was dead. Cal looks for her, prays for her and finally he just waits for her.

Nine years later, she walks into the community college English class Cal is teaching. Only this girl claims her name is Sophie Becker and she doesn’t know him. Cal knows better. He’s determined to get the girl he loves back—and protect her from the danger that took her away all those years ago.

LINKS

Author’s Website
Facebook

Twitter @MKSchiller
Amazon Author page
Publisher’s site
Goodreads page

Share your thoughts

