Would you be interested in a blog story?

I am finishing off a short story this weekend.  Actually it is technically novella length.  Currently it is about 16k, but will probably be between 17 and 18k when finished.

Now I have to decide what I am going to do with it and I am torn in several directions.

Option 1

I submit it to the publisher who had the open call that inspired the story.  I am already with them and while the road hasn’t been smooth this last year I am trying to stick it out.   The main downside here is that the deadline is very soon and I would have to rush the pre-sub edits like crazy to get it sent in time.

Option 2

I submit it to my second publisher who are currently accepting new MM stories, of which this is one.  I would probably delay sending it to them for a while though.  For one reason I could take more time over the pre-sub edits, and also I have a story in their queue for consideration already.  I really don’t want to stretch myself too thin with two stories so close together in the system if I am lucky enough to have them both accepted.  I would envisage sending it in some time in the spring, though if the story already with them is rejected I would probably put it off even longer, knowing what I’m like.

Option 3

I could post it here in parts as a free read on my blog.

Now, I have tried serial stories here before with my flash fiction group, but have been very slack in posting them.  Sometimes it has been months between updates and for that I apologise.  I have actually removed them from the blog now for various reasons.

This would be different because the story is actually going to be finished and polished as much as I can without a professional editor before I start posting it.  If I go with this option I envisage sitting down one weekend and formatting and scheduling the whole story at once so it is super regular in updates.

So what are everyone’s thoughts on where this story should go?  If I did post it as a free read on, say, a weekly basis, would anyone actually read it?

I don’t want to go on the basis of ‘it’s free so of course people will read’ because that simply isn’t the case.  With so much free stuff out there, I know there is a lot of competition for the free time.

Here is the very rough blurb for the story, in case that makes a difference.

Scott Baxter is a workaholic with no time for love, until a djinn pulls him out of his life and deposits him into the bed of Cameron Kirk.  Cut off from his life, Scott agrees to help the djinn grant a wish by playing the part of Cameron’s husband for the day.  As the day progresses he finds himself enjoying the role, but what will happen at midnight, when the wish has been fulfilled and Scott has to return to his own life?

So, thoughts anyone?

9 responses to “Would you be interested in a blog story?

  1. I want to read it now! Sounds so good. My first response would be for you to try to publish it so you can make money. If the story gets rejected them you could blog post it and then self publish it so I can own a mobi copy of the book to read in my kindle.

    Do you have an inclination if what you want to do? If you post the story as a blog, I’d read it.

  2. Thanks for your input.

    I have no idea what I am going to do with it, though the good news I finished it a little while ago. Decided against an epilogue so it is a bit shorter than I expected it to be.

    I need some sort of reason for people to visit my blog and a blog story has been suggested by several others. I am just not sure I have enough confidence to put a long-ish story out there without it going through proper edits.

    I may see if I can get it sorted in time for the open call deadline and make a decision closer to then. If I am going to miss the deadline then one of the options will be gone anyway, though I suppose I could still submit it to them outside the open call.

    I just don’t know.

    It’s good to know that if I did post it here there would at least be one person reading it though.

  3. I know more than one person would read it. The nice thing about you changing to WordPress is that I get emailed your posts so I am ensured that I don’t miss any.

    The blogs I like have regular blog stories, posts about their book releases with a buy link and other posts that talk about what ever they like.

  4. Well, the blog story is definitely getting serious consideration from me. If I do go that route, how frequently do you prefer updates. I am thinking weekly or maybe fortnightly if weekly is too much. Probably scheduled to post on Saturdays.

  5. I’m rather impatient all weekly is good for me. 🙂

  6. I’d read a blog story, you could always expand or alter it a bit then publish it later. I’d buy that too.

  7. If I do end up posting it on the blog I probably won’t send it into a publisher unless it is as a free read. I don’t know what the policy is for those though so I may not be able to.

    I am toying with the idea of simply using Scrivener to export it as a PDF after formatting and editing and after it has been posted as a serial I could potentially make it available for download from right here on the blog/site.

    I need to make my mind up what I am going to do with it. It very much depends on whether I can get the edits done before the deadline at the end of next week.

  8. I’ve found many authors because of their long stories on their blog/website. It’s a good way for me to decide how I feel about their work and in many cases, I’ve immediately bought their backlists and put them on my autobuy list.

  9. I have done the same thing myself. I just wasn’t sure if there was anyone here who would take the time to come back to read. Especially since I have only recently moved my blog from Blogspot to here on WordPress.

    I really want my blog to be more active this year and the blog story is one of several ideas I have had.

    I will probably do one, though I am not sure whether it will be the story I have in mind at the moment. It wasn’t written on the basis of being a blog story and I am not sure if it will work as one. I am probably going to submit it to a publisher and if it is rejected take some time to work on it and make it blog ready.

    If it is accepted then I will have to come up with another story, perhaps one that might work better as a blog story than this one would.

    I want to get the whole story written first though. I hate waiting for updates myself and I don’t think leaving one hanging for ages would help at all. I want it all ready and scheduled before the first part is even posted.

Share your thoughts

