Guest Blogger – Alicia Nordwell

As always, I must be polite and thank my host! I really appreciate you allowing me to visit, L.M. Every person who comments will be entered into my contest to win a $10 Amazon gift card. Don’t forget to leave your email, because if I can’t contact you… you can’t win!

L.M. interrupts momentarily to welcome Alicia and to point readers up at the giveaway rules for this site/blog.

 Why Publish The Experiment Now?

I’ve talked about why I wrote sci-fi in the first place, but I haven’t talked about why I subbed my story to Dreamspinner. There are a lot of people who already read The Experiment. I’m lucky to have many fans willing to purchase the eBook version when they’ve already read the free copy. A little extra cash makes my days in front of the computer worth it to my family. Of course some fans can’t buy my eBooks, and that’s okay too! But why did I sub The Experiment? Why go into sci-fi? Why not sell the Carthera stories, or follow up Pricolici? Why take it to Dreamspinner.

As cold as it sounds, I follow what sells. I enjoy writing, and while I don’t write to make money, when I decide to sub a story… well, it pays to be smart! I track stories, see what’s selling, who and what kind of plots, lengths, and authors are moving into what trends. It wasn’t hard to see that happening. Shifters, vampires, and other paranormals are still popular, but a lot of sci-fi novels hitting the lists, and they were on the rise. Especially if they had sexy couples!  I’ve enjoyed many of them myself since I devour eBooks at an alarming rate… for my checkbook!

As soon as I saw the trending sales, I decided to dust off The Experiment. An alien, with pale skin and blue markings, who bites? That could go so many ways!  It was still relatively fresh, since I’d stayed within the series and began Dade’s story. My readers really liked the world I created, and I was hoping a publisher would too. I was happy with how little the plot needed polishing from Dreamspinner’s editing team’s feedback, though my writing itself was rough. Fortunately they helped me out, and I had my first novel hitting the coming soon market!

Where do I go from here? Well, I’m almost done with Adverse Effect, Dade’ story. It’s posting a serial, but I’ll clean it up and sub it to Dreamspinner, with my fingers crossed The Experiment sells well enough, and Dade’s story is unique enough, to publish. I will most definitely be writing Nicklaus’ story too, and sending that up the pipeline if all goes well.

If not, my loyal readers still get their entertainment, right? That’s what I really want. The comments, reviews, emails, and other messages keep me writing. Without my fans, there’s no point. I’ll never stop posting free stories, as long as people want to keep reading them. But I’ll keep watching the trends and listening to what fans like, so I can afford to do that too.

Buy Now! Dreamspinner Press  All Romance eBooks  Amazon

Synopsis:

 In the distant future, humans wage war against the alien planet Caeorleia, with no tactic off-limits if it will help the humans get their hands on Caeorleia’s resources. Ask Ryker. He thought he volunteered for a simple experiment that would help his government in the war. He didn’t realize sadistic doctors would turn him into the experiment—by injecting him with blood from a captured Caeorleian, Seral Iorflas.

Nor did Ryker realize he’d be sent to sabotage a planet full of the very beings his world is battling, beings who kill humans on sight. But then, thanks to the experiment that irrevocably changed him, he isn’t exactly human any longer—and with each passing day, as his blood bond with Seral strengthens, he’s less and less sure as to whose side he’s on.

Excerpt:

You said many of the men who were captives in the ship died when they experimented on them. Reversing this change to your biology might be deadly too. Are you so against being my tziu that you would risk almost certain death trying to go back to being a nelho? One of the same race that hurt you so much?”

I closed my eyes against the hurt in his voice. I was so tired and so confused. “I don’t want to die. I’m not against being with you because you’re not human. I didn’t mean it like that earlier.” I spoke carefully. “But I don’t know you. On my planet people don’t get into a relationship right off the bat like this. Some do, but not me.

“What if you decide you’re tired of me? What would I do? What about those people who aren’t happy about me being here, like you said?”

Compassion shone on Seral’s face. “Oh, tziu, I will never be tired of you. From the first moment I saw those monsters drag you into the shuttle, I have been fascinated with you. Besedad is a sacred gift. Not many males are tziu, and even fewer find an isit. I’m glad we found each other and are complete. I never imagined I’d find someone like you. I always thought my tziu would be female, and the thought did not appeal much to me.

“I never imagined you, though. If I had….” His hand brushed my face, the tips of his claws gentle against my skin. “You are the perfect size for me. I want to cradle you in my arms and keep you safe. I could stare into your eyes for hours, they are so beautiful.

“They’re brown, and they glow, like a sampanga tree. And your hair feels strange, bristly and soft, exposing the curves of your skull. I wonder what it will look like when it grows out, if you will let me run my hands through it. I’ve seen nelhos before, and their dark skin and strange looks never appealed to me, but you do. I know my words are as good as meaningless to you, without the knowledge of Caeorleian ways, but I promise you will be happy here.” His hand had crept back on to my chest.

I wondered if wanting that, wanting to be happy with him, made me a traitor to my own kind. Then again, they had changed me, so what loyalty did I owe them?

 

Author Bio:

Alicia Nordwell is one of those not so rare creatures, a reader turned writer. Striving to find something interesting to read one day, she decided to write what she wanted instead. Then the voices started… Yep, not only does she talk about herself in the third person for bios, she has voices in her head constantly clamoring to get out. Fortunately for readers, with the encouragement of her family and friends, she decided for her own sanity to keep writing. Now you can find her stories both free and e-published! Oh yeah, she’s a wife, mom of two, and lives in the dreary, yet ideal for her redhead complexion, Pacific Northwest. Except for when she disappears into one of the many worlds in her head, of course!

BLOG  *  FACEBOOK  *  GOODREADS  *  TWITTER: @AliciaNordwell

6 responses to “Guest Blogger – Alicia Nordwell

  1. Look forward to reading this story again and I am enjoying Adverse Effects. I look forward to Nicklaus’ story.

  2. Shorty Chelle

    Awesome story, loved it. Can’t wait for more.

    marsh10@netzero.com

  3. Thank you both for commenting! You’re both entered in the contest.

  4. Interesting to hear the inspiration behind this particular story!

    vitajex(at)Aol(Dot)com

  5. I hope I’m not too late to get an entry in for Sunday, sorry, bad weekend and I didn’t get online at all.

  6. I’m so excited to know that I have Nicklaus’ story to look forward too!

    sabrinasmadrina@gmail.com

Share your thoughts

