The Power of Gay Love

Welcome to my first blog hop of the year.

I am going to be talking a little about the various types of love that you can find in the romance genre.

Firstly, let’s take a look at the old classic, love at first sight, also known as insta-love.  This is the one that tends to get the most criticism from readers and reviewers, at least in so far as I have seen.

“Their eyes met across a crowded room…”

How many times have we read that in one form or another?

But is it possible to fall in love at first sight?  I believe so and as such some of my characters get to experience that too.  For Tristan, the human part of my angel/demon/human ménage trilogy, Heavenly Sins, it was certainly lust at first sight when he saw both Alastor and Mac, and love followed swiftly behind.

As well as love at first sight, there is, of course, hate at first sight, which may, given the right circumstances one day turn to love.  Love and hate are often said to be two sides of the same coin and the enemies becoming lovers is another theme I have employed in my stories.

Sticking with the Heavenly Sins trilogy, you can see an example of this form of love between Mac, an angel and Alastor, a demon.  Natural enemies for countless centuries, love blooms for them, even though it took them a long time to get there.

For a third type of love, there is also the friends to lovers scenario, which I admit is one of my favourites.  I have used it in several of my books, including my latest release My Boyfriend’s an Alien.  Poor old Zak, an alien from a completely different type of world, has no idea about love at all, at least until he falls for one of his first real friends, a human named Sam.

Another similar way love can blossom is via the friends with benefits, but falling for each other method.  I don’t think I have written any of those stories, but am including it in here as I know it can be quite popular.

Following on from that is the hook-ups becoming closer and falling in love, which again is a type of love I haven’t really touched on.

There are many different ways of getting our characters to their happy ever after (or their happy for now) endings, and I enjoy getting them there in a variety of methods.

Which is your favourite type of way to read about characters falling in love?

GIVEAWAY

Winner’s choice of either:
– A print copy of Heavenly Sins #1, Between Heaven & Hell; OR
– A print copy of My Boyfriend’s an Alien.

                        

Retail value: Between Heaven & Hell $12.99 /£8.17
Retail value: My Boyfriend’s an Alien $11.99 /£7.99

Please be sure to read the Rules/Terms & Conditions for the giveaway here.

To enter the giveaway please comment on this blog post leaving a valid email address (hopefully answering the question above, but that is not mandatory for entry into the giveaway). There is no need to leave a postal address on your comment. If you are the winner you can provide this later by email.

The giveaway will start at the time this blog post goes live and will end at midnight on 16th February 2014.

The prize winner will be chosen via random.org on the 17th February, to ensure that whatever timezone you are in you are given sufficient time to enter.  Since I will be at the day job on the 17th the winner will be announced on the blog during the evening (UK time) on the 17th February and the winner will be emailed in respect of the choice of prize.

Please make sure to read the full rules of this giveaway, particularly if you are likely to be offline when the blog hop draws to an end. You don’t want to miss out on a potential prize.

Good luck everyone and thanks for visiting!

Oh and *BREAKING NEWS* just in
TO SEE THE SKY
is on sale this Valentine’s weekend.
At 25% off it’s the perfect time to get a copy if you haven’t already.
SALE LINK

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

24 responses to “The Power of Gay Love

  1. Friends to lovers is probably my favorite because I’ve always believed that friendship is the best foundation for a relationship. Of course, all the years of watching old movie where insta-love was very common makes me a sucker for those as well.

    sabrinasmadrina@gmail.com

  2. I love when they do not want to fall in love and do anyway.
    debby236@gmail.com

  3. I love friends to lovers (especially childhood friend to lover stories). I love see characters going through life phases it makes me feel loser to them. I just love getting to know them anyway I can and seeing how their choies have effected their life.

    humhumbum AT yahoo DOT com

  4. Enemies to Lovers is the best but I love all the examples. Between Heaven and Hell

  5. Hey! Thanks for joining the hop. 🙂
    ~M

  6. Doris, thanks for stopping by and commenting. I hope you will stop back and leave your contact address in case you are the winner.

    I have not read many enemies to lovers stories, but I have enjoyed those that I have.

  7. I am happy to join in, M.A. 🙂

  8. Hi H.B. I think friends to lovers is probably one of my favourites too. I am a sucker for long stories and love seeing all their progression in relationships.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  9. @ DebraG. I don’t think I have done any stories with that particular method, but it is certainly fun to watch them resist. Maybe my characters are just too horny. 🙂

    Thanks for joining in the hop.

  10. @ Lynette. I am probably a sucker for all types of falling in love tropes/methods. Friends to lovers is one of my favourites though. I have a quick read of that sort for later this evening – one of the DSP Valentine releases – Campfire Confessions.

    Thanks for joining the hop.

  11. I’ve always liked friends-to-lovers, or scenarios with teammates or roommates!

  12. Hi Trix. Thanks for stopping by.

    I like the teammates and roommates (especially college roommates) scenarios too.

    If you want to enter the giveaway please leave your email address here so I can contact you if you are a winner.

  13. Pingback: RAD at the Sweet Spot | L.M. Brown

  14. Shirley Ann Speakman

    I like the “Eyes across the room” Love or “Friends to Lovers”
    ShirleyAnn@speakman40.freeserve.co.uk

  15. I like friends to lovers. I’ve read a lot of insta-love and it doesn’t ruin a book but it can be kinda hard to accept. 🙂
    aelnova@aol.com

  16. I’ve had to think about this one. I really enjoy the friends to lovers stories because there is something so sweet about about them. I would have to pick enemies to lovers as what I like more though. I think that’s harder to write but when it’s written well, they are fantastic and a little more satisfying. I think it’s because of all the different emotions the characters feel.

    Mikamorris@hotmail.com

  17. Love friends to lovers, but also chance meetings where two strangers meet.

    dannyfiredragon@aol.com

  18. like all ways

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

  19. Either friends to lovers or enemies to lovers.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  20. Thanks for being part of the Blog Hop! 🙂

    Julie

  21. Love them all
    marsh10@netzero.com

  22. Hi! Happy Valentines! There are so many! I love the ones that go from enemies to lovers. Those are my favorite! All the sparks… *sigh* Thank you for sharing and for ​the amazing giveaway!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  23. I, too, have to go with the friends to lovers scenario. Insta-love just never rang true to me. Insta-lust, sure, and I do believe that, in time, that can turn to love. But to meet someone, fall in bed, then proclaim your eternal love and devotion is just a little hard for me to buy.
    Thanks for the give-away.
    katcleve25@gmail.com

  24. P.S. It’s only 11:13 pm in St Louis right now.

Share your thoughts

