Guest Blogger – Chris T Kat

Please give a nice warm welcome to my latest guest, Chris T Kat, who is here to talk about her new book and answer my nosy questions.

First of all, please would you introduce yourself to anyone lurking here?

Thank you, LM, for having me on your blog! My name is Chris T. Kat and I write M/M romance stories in various subgenres (contemporary, mystery, paranormal). I’m published with Dreamspinner Press, Torquere Press and under contract with eXtasy books).

Here’s my official author bio:

Chris T. Kat lives in the middle of Europe, where she shares a house with her husband of many years and their two children. She stumbled upon the M/M genre by luck and was swiftly drawn into it. She divides her time between work, her family—which includes chasing after escaping horses and lugging around huge instruments such as a harp—and writing. She enjoys a variety of genres, such as mystery/suspense, paranormal, and romance. If there’s any spare time, she happily reads for hours, listens to audiobooks or does cross stitch.

What made you decide to start writing?

I wrote as a kid and young teenager but dropped this hobby because other things became more important. When I picked it up again it was due to my love for fanfiction and a certain TV show (House MD). Since I, rather desperately, wanted to read a story in which Wilson was a shape-shifter, and I couldn’t find anything like that, I decided to write my first story. Well, and then I never stopped. 😉

Which do you find easier to write: series or standalone stories?

That really depends on the story. Standalones are easier in a way, though, because I don’t have to remember all the tiny details for future books. I greatly dislike inconsistencies in a series and that’s the biggest difficulty I see in writing a series. Well, that, and keeping the characters true to themselves even though they’re supposed to develop. Another challenge is to keep the relationships between the protagonists fresh.

Hmm, so reading my answer so far, I should change the beginning. Series are harder to write than standalones, but I still like to write series as much as standalones.

What do you enjoy most about writing?

It’s time for myself and incredibly relaxing. I’ve always had a great imagination and if I didn’t write my stories, all the voices in my head clamouring for my attention would probably drive me insane. Also, it’s a big adventure for me to create my own worlds, especially if the story includes paranormal elements. Oh, yeah, and then there’s the part where the two main characters fall in love—that’s my favourite part of writing.

Do you write your stories in order from start to finish or do you write out of order?

I write from start to finish—every time. I admire those authors who can write their scenes out of order. There are moments when I’d like to be capable of working in the same way, especially when a scene is vivid in my mind but I need to write several chapters still before I’m at that point. But sadly, that’s impossible for me. I tried to write out of order—it resulted in a big mess.

How do you keep disciplined in your writing?

Due to work and family obligations I only have two days per week to write: Saturday and Sunday. I always write from around 9 o’clock to noon on these days. During spring and summer I sometimes don’t write at all because I want to enjoy the good weather or we’re going on a family trip. On the other hand, when I have a day off or when I don’t work I try to squeeze in more writing time.

Other times I have to shut off the internet to get some writing done because I can’t seem to focus and Facebook and Twitter are such a nice distraction (unfortunately they eat up time like nothing else, too). But usually, writing is a pleasure and I don’t need much discipline for it.

What are the best and worst things about being a published author?

Best thing is when a reader lets me know they enjoyed my book. I also like that I became friends with some readers and other authors. 🙂 Worst thing is all the time I need to spend on promoting my books. I love to chat and interact with readers but preparing whole blog tours is very time-consuming, and I admit that I’d rather write my next book…

How did you get into male/male romances?  What do you like about writing them?

I’ve always been interested in male/male romances. When I watched TV or read a book, I often disliked the lead pair, which always consisted of a man and a woman. Often I thought that the guy and his best friend/co-worker had a more intense chemistry than the supposed romantic couple.

Anyway, I stumbled into the world of Mangas, where male/male romances have a long tradition. I gobbled up those stories (my favourite is still “Fake”) and when I searched for more stories on the internet I found fanfiction stories. I think I got lost for about a year in various fandoms and read anything I could find. From there I discovered published male/male romances and that’s what I read mostly nowadays.

I can’t really pinpoint what I like about writing male/male stories. It’s just something I enjoy tremendously. 🙂

What is the best and/or worst reaction you have had after telling someone you write same sex romances?

Not many people know that I write at all, and even fewer people know what I write specifically. This is my relaxation zone and I don’t like many people intruding into this private area. So I can’t say I’ve had a worst reaction. My father’s reaction was pretty funny, though. When I told him, he was like: “Oh, you mean you wrote an erotic novel? With two men? Sounds cool.” Seconds later, he frowned and I thought, damn, here we go. You know what he said? “You write in English, right? You know I can’t read English! Can’t you translate one of your books for me?” ^_^

What is your favourite genre to write/read?

I like most subgenres, but I prefer writing in the paranormal genre, specifically shape-shifters. As for reading: I read a lot of shape-shifter stories but also a lot of light BDSM stories. My favourite stories are about two men in a domestic discipline relationship.

What is your favourite kink to read/write about?

Spanking, preferably over the knee. I can’t explain why but that’s definitely the kink I really like to read about.

What do you like to do to relax when you aren’t writing?

I do a lot of cross stitching and crocheting, especially in autumn and winter. My favourite hobby, however, is to read. Oh, and when the weather is good I like to hike or swim.

Who are your favourite authors when reading for inspiration?

Dean Koontz, David Eddings and Josh Lanyon are my go-to authors when I want to be inspired by great language and fantastic world-building.

Do you like to travel? What are your favourite places to visit?

I do! We often travel to the Netherlands for summer vacation. I also love to visit my best friend in the USA for a week every two years. So far we’ve been to Atlantic City, New York, Philadelphia, and Washington. I hope to visit her again in 2015. Other than that I like visiting different cities in Germany.

What are you working on at the moment, and what are we likely to see from you in the coming months?

At the moment, I’m working on a science-fiction story; the first one in a series of two books to be precise. The first one should be finished soon and then I’ll get right onto the second one.

You can expect to see the second Jeff Woods Mystery, titled Sacrifices, at the end of April. Sometime in spring a short story, called Unicorn Rescue, will be published by eXtasy books. And in August/September two paranormal stories, Secret Chemistry 2 and Tidal Changes, will be published by Dreamspinner Press.

Please tell us about your latest book.

Blurb:

George Owens is comfortable with his life just the way it is. A wolf- and fox-shifter, George leads a reclusive lifestyle with his energetic and diva-ish mate Billy, a fox-and squirrel-shifter.

George has no desire to take over leadership of the pack, despite his father’s wishes. Edward Owens is feeling his age and wants to make sure the pack is in good hands should he not be able to win his next challenge. However, George is adamant that he wants no part of it.

But events rock George from his complacency, and he realizes he has to take a stand and fight for what he cares about. If he remains in the past and cannot change in order to do what he must, he risks losing everything he loves.

Buy link:

Dreamspinner Press: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=4765

Excerpt (George is in his wolf-form):

Even though he didn’t expect an answer, George called, Billy!

He all but jumped out of his skin when something landed on his back. He let out a surprised bark and craned his head to see if a branch had fallen on him. He couldn’t find anything but caught a glimpse of something moving, accompanied by a featherlight motion on his back.

Relief flooded him when the movement ended between his ears, and two tiny paws grabbed the tips.

Hello there! Billy chirped.

Sheesh! You scared me to death! George growled.

Sorry! I was so surprised! See, I knew it would come in handy that my second form is a squirrel. I shifted during my fall and stopped rolling down farther.
Unfortunately, I was covered in snow and decided to rescue myself on a tree to avoid more snow gluing to me.

You knew that? If I recall correctly, you whined for a whole week after you found out your second form is a squirrel, George replied.

Billy climbed down George’s head, turned around, and sat down slightly above George’s nose. Well, I wanted to be something cool too, and since the second form is often a larger animal, I was quite disappointed at first.

George’s eyes crossed as he tried to focus on the little red-furred squirrel. Billy, you know I hate it when you sit there.

Billy giggled but remained where he was. I love it when you get that odd look.

Either get up or get down, George grumbled.

The grumble held no heat, though. He was too happy that Billy wasn’t injured. His heart still pounded too fast in his chest, but he was sure it would take up normal activity soon.

Billy hastily climbed up and settled between his ears, his tiny paws again clutching them. Whee! Bring us home, my beloved!

Where can we find you and your books on the web?
Blog: http://christikat.blogspot.com
Twitter: http://twitter.com/christi_kat
GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/ChrisTKat
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ChrisTKat
Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Chris-T.-Kat/e/B008FQQH2Q

5 responses to “Guest Blogger – Chris T Kat

  1. Thank you for having me! 🙂

  2. You’re welcome any time. Love the idea of a squirrel shifter. So original!

  3. This sounds so interesting and I am thinking I have NEVER read a two shifter before…of course the evolve but a person with two shifters straids hhuummm I have got to try this out. thank you for sharing your story with us and great interview.

  4. I don’t think I have either. This one is definitely on my wish list – for when I have some time to read. Sorely tempted to take a break from the PC this weekend to do some catching up my reading.

  5. crozzy67cinders–Thanks a lot for stopping by. In case you give “The Wolf and His Diva” a try I hope you’ll like it!

Share your thoughts

