Scrivener & NaNoWriMo Update

It has been a while since I blogged about Scrivener, which is mainly because I have not been using it. The reason is that the story I have been working on most recently was already started and formatted in Word and nearly complete, so it was a little pointless to be importing it (and screwing up the formatting) just to have to do it all over again.

But that project is nearing completion – the first draft was finished last week – and I am gearing up for my next novel.

I am going to be using April to participate in Camp NaNoWriMo.  It will be my first Camp and I will be writing the second of the Mermen & Magic series.  I’ll be blogging about my month over at the Mermen & Magic blog.

My NaNo project is also going to be my first major project in Scrivener.  I did use it for One Perfect Wish, but as a short story I could just as easily have used Word.  I was not really using it as anything more than a word processor, mainly because for that story I was writing in order and I didn’t need to.

Tempestuous Tides, however is a novel where I am aiming for 70,000 words.  Yes, that is the target I have set for myself in April – why do I do this to myself?

So for the rest of March I am setting up Scrivener so that my project goes smoothly.

I have been putting together my notes, separating each scene into a separate text document in order.  I will then be able to swiftly jump from one scene to another in order to get those words down for whichever scene is speaking to me at the time.

I have been cross-referencing like crazy to make sure my notes are as complete as they can be before I get started.  The split screen and lock screen functions have been invaluable in this regard.  I hate losing my place to look stuff up and have really been using this a lot more than I thought I would.

I discovered I love playing with the random name generator, which I will no doubt be utilising during the month when new characters are introduced and I don’t want to waste time thinking up a name.  There is one in the very first chapter who is nameless so I know this is going to be a lifesaver.

I have also been getting a few ideas down for further books in the series. Just adding those quick little notes straight into the document before I forget them is perfect for me, who has a habit of thinking of things but forgetting them by the time I get round to writing them down.  Now I am adding my notes right into the project.

The session target feature is also going to be utilised a lot during April as I am going to be aiming for my highest NaNo target to date.  I also discovered that even if you forget to pull up the session target when you start your session, it remembers it for you anyway.  Wonderful for a ditz like me.

I also discovered the text statistics button that can show me which words I am overusing.  That, was and but being some major issues for me.

Also sorted out a way to see my progress towards my word count target for just this one book and not the whole series.  Really pleased with that one!

I really wish I could figure out a way to add my own words to the auto-correct dictionary.  There are so many I have added to Word over the years (ironically I just typed one of them here – hte instead of the and htem instead of them too).  My fingers tend to transpose those two letters more often than not because I type too quickly.  They were added to Word a long time ago by me and I do wish I could see how to add them into Scrivener as well.

I will really have my work cut out in turning off that inner editor during April.

April is going to be very interesting indeed.  Don’t forget you can follow my progress on my other blog where I will no doubt be posting a few teasers during the course of the month.

In the meantime, here is the very rough blurb for Tempestuous Tides.

Justin is a merman who has been raised amongst humans by an Atlantean god and goddess.  He hates his merman heritage and tries to forget his fins. When his father, king of the sunken city of Atlantis sends Lucas, one of his junior advisers to bring him home, Justin has no intention of entering the sea. Unfortunately a heated encounter with the temperamental Atlantean goddess of love and an unexpected love spell on Justin and Lucas leaves him with no other choice. If he does not travel to Atlantis, the merman he is falling for will die.

2 responses to “Scrivener & NaNoWriMo Update

  1. Cathy Brockman

    I use scrivner quite a bit I love the split screen . i havent seen the name generator or the session thing I may have ot look for those. the spellcheck and grammar isnt as good as word that is my biggest gripe

  2. I don’t use it for anything other than the first draft because of the spellcheck and grammar on it, but for getting the first draft down and organising I am loving it.

    The session target is part of project targets in the project menu and the name generator is found under writing tools in the tools menu.

Share your thoughts

