Guest Blogger – Lucy Felthouse

Hi everyone.  It is time for another blog guest here at my little corner of the web, so please welcome Lucy Felthouse who is here with a brand new interview and to talk about her new book. 

Lucy Felthouse is a very busy woman! She writes erotica and erotic romance in a variety of subgenres and pairings, and has over 100 publications to her name, with many more in the pipeline. These include several editions of Best Bondage Erotica, Best Women’s Erotica 2013 and Best Erotic Romance 2014. Another string to her bow is editing, and she has edited and co-edited a number of anthologies, and also edits for a small publishing house. She owns Erotica For All, and is book editor for Cliterati. Find out more at http://www.lucyfelthouse.co.uk. Join her on Facebook and Twitter, and subscribe to her newsletter at: http://eepurl.com/gMQb9

What made you decide to start writing?

I’ve been writing ever since I could use a pen. As a child I’d always tell everyone I was going to be an author when I grew up. Of course, as I got older and understood the reality, I went into marketing. By that point, I’d done a degree in Creative Writing and had been dared by one of my fellow students to write an erotic story. I’ve never looked back…

What genre(s) do you write and how did you get into it/them?

I write erotica and erotic romance, and I got into them because I was dared to try writing an erotic story back in university. I discovered I liked it, and have never looked back!

Is there any genre(s) that you haven’t written yet which you would like to? If so, which genre(s)?

One day I’d like to write mainstream romance. But for now, I have so many naughty ideas floating around my head that I’ll keep on writing them!

What do you think makes for a good hero and/or heroine?

Being likeable, interesting and engaging.

What do you think makes for a good villain?

Being someone we love to hate!

Which do you find easier to write: series or standalone stories?

I’ve written lots more standalone stuff than series books, but I enjoy writing both equally, and have written some standalones that I’ve actually realised could be given sequels.

What do you enjoy most about writing?

Getting good feedback from readers. When I write, I write what comes naturally, what pops into my head. So to know that readers are enjoying your crazy imagination is awesome.

Do you write your stories in order from start to finish or do you write out of order?

I write in order, definitely. I may write and then go back and fill bits out or cut bits, but I always write from start to finish. I can’t work any other way.

Do you plot out the stories before you start writing, or do you let the characters take over? Or is it a bit of both?

It’s a bit of both. With short stories I tend to just write and see what happens. But with longer books I’m concerned about continuity, keeping things interesting and so on, so I plan and research until I know what I’m doing in every chapter.

Which of your own characters is your favourite and why?

I’m a real sucker for Jeremy Davenport and Ethan Hayes from Stately Pleasures. I know that’s two, but those boys come as a package and I really loved writing them—they have many similarities, but are also very different, and it was fun to throw them into a ménage scenario and let it play out.

Where do you get your ideas from?

Anywhere and everywhere. It can be a place, a person, an overheard conversation, a book, a TV show… anything at all. The key is remembering the ideas long enough to write them down!

What kind of research do you do?

It depends on the book. For a lot of my stuff, there’s no research necessary. But for Letters to a War Zone, for example, I did some research online into military pen pal websites. I’ve also got friends recently out of the army, and still in who are very useful when it comes to asking questions about that kind of thing.

How do you keep disciplined in your writing?

I tend to work better with a deadline—I hate letting people down so having that deadline there keeps me going. Equally, I like getting things finished, because the sooner I finish, edit and send something off for submission, the sooner I can crack on with the next thing on my epic to-write list!

What are the best and worst things about being a published author?

The best things are getting positive feedback, finding out that your story, your characters, have really hit the spot with someone.

The worst thing is probably having to wait so long between sending a story off and it releasing.

How did you get into male/male romances? What do you like about writing them?

I like writing all kinds of stuff, so it was only going to be a matter of time before I wrote a male/male romance. My first gay erotic story was also military, and I had real fun with it. Since then I’ve contributed to a couple of male/male anthologies and also penned a slightly taboo novella called Illicit Relations. I like writing, full stop, so to me it doesn’t matter what genre or pairing I’m writing. Though it’s kinda nice that gay stuff is so popular, so it sells well 😉

How did you get into female/female romances? What do you like about writing them?

Same as above – though my first lesbian piece was in response to a call for submissions. I just thought I’d give it a go, and discovered I liked it. I get very good feedback from my lesbian stuff, which spurred me on to write more.

If you also write male/female romances, which do you find easier to write?

I don’t find any of the pairings any more difficult or easier than the others. When you’ve got same sex you have to be more careful when describing sex scenes so it’s clear whose body parts are doing what, but otherwise, it’s exactly the same.

Despite the growing market for same sex romances, it is still a long way from being mainstream. Do you see a time when they make it to the bestseller lists?

I would really like to think so. With eBooks and eReaders continuing to increase in popularity, people have so much more variety on what they can read, and if they’re the type of people to get embarrassed, then reading an eBook solves this problem. So yeah, hopefully one day there will be enough people out there interested in the genre that authors will experience bestseller status.

What is the best and/or worst reaction you have had after telling someone you write same sex romances?

I don’t tell anyone and everyone what I write – just the people that I think will be okay with it. Writing erotic romance can shock people, so I don’t feel the need to go into detail on the pairings I write. Unless they’re interested and want to know more, of course!

There seems to be some controversy about heterosexual women writing male/male romances, and whether they should or not. Have you encountered this and what is your opinion on the matter?

I haven’t encountered it personally, thankfully. But I have heard about other authors being called out about it.

I don’t think it’s a problem. People are people, no matter what their gender or sexual preference. So if you know people and can write about them authoritatively, then what does it matter?

What is your favourite genre to write/read?

I love to write erotica and erotic romance. I haven’t written anything else for a long time, so I’m sticking with it for now.

As for reading, I enjoy all sorts—romances (erotic and not), thrillers, mysteries, paranormal, urban fantasy… pretty much anything that’s not sci-fi, really.

If you were a shape-shifter, what animal would you be?

Ooh, that’s a good one. Maybe a bird so I could go anywhere I wanted and see beautiful places. And hopefully not get eaten by a predator 😉

If you could travel through time to the past, do you think you’d survive in your favourite time period?

Oh yes, because my favourite time period is the 70s. I love the music, the attitude, the style… I think I’d have a great time in that era.

If you could have any magical power at all, what would it be?

That would be invisibility. An incredibly useful tool for an erotica writer, I think.

What is your favourite kink to read/write about?

I’m a sucker for a man in uniform!

What do you like to do to relax when you aren’t writing?

I enjoy reading, watching TV, walking my dog and knitting. Though not all at the same time.

Do you enjoy films and/or TV shows? Which are your favourites?

Yes, I love them. I like Marvel and X-Men films, Bridget Jones, funny films, chick flicks… My favourite TV shows are Supernatural, The Vampire Diaries, The Originals, Sleepy Hollow… the list goes on!

Do you like to travel? What are your favourite places to visit?

Yes, I love travelling. Or at least the being there. The actual getting there part can be stressful. I love exploring the UK, and there are thousands more places I’d love to go. Outside of the UK, I adore Paris. I’m going in May and I can’t wait!

Is there anywhere you would like to visit which you have not had chance to yet?

Far too many places to mention! I’m really hoping to go to New York next year for my 30th birthday, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed my books will sell so I’ve got enough money!

Do you like history? If so, what is your favourite era and why?

I’m interested in history and like to learn more. I don’t think I have a favourite era, really, as all of them have such interesting parts.

If you could go back in time and give yourself advice, what would it be?

Don’t go there!

What are you working on at the moment, and what are we likely to see from you in the coming months?

I’ve just finished a novella set in Paris. I plan to get it edited and sent off in the next week or so, then keep my fingers crossed it’ll be accepted. Then I have a couple of short stories to complete, an anthology to co-edit, a novel to co-write, a solo novel to edit… the list goes on, and on!

I have stuff scheduled to release in coming months, including two books in June. Calendar Men: Mr June – The Other Brother is part of a multi-author series from Decadent Publishing and is a m/f erotic romance set in New York. I really enjoyed writing this book… and spent an awful lot of time on Google Maps! It will release on 1st June.

My second June release is Sweet Spot, which is part of Raw Talent, a sports romance series by myself and Lily Harlem. It’s a f/f sports romance which will release on the 18th June.

I’m looking forward to hearing what people have to say about both books!

Please tell us about your latest book.

Excerpt:
After clicking all the available links on the website to find out more about it, Bailey decided to go ahead and sign up. He’d never know what it was really like unless he gave it a go.

He’d read about the site in an article somewhere, about how it linked people with serving soldiers, pilots, marines and sailors in order to write to them. It had been proven that receiving mail—even from someone they didn’t know—improved military morale. It sounded like a damn good use of time to Bailey, and it would be interesting, too.

He began typing his details into the online form. Of course, the chances were that he’d be paired up with a man, given the ratio of males to females in the forces. It didn’t matter, though. He could still exchange letters with a guy, become friends. It seemed like such an old-school way to communicate with someone, given how technology had come on over the years, but at least it was different. Perhaps it would give him something in his life to look forward to, something other than getting up, showering, going to work, coming home, eating, watching television and going to bed. The watching television—and even the eating—were occasionally replaced by nights out with friends or seeing family. Weekends were spent cleaning, washing clothes, gardening and odd jobs. Dull stuff, in other words.

He had an utterly mundane life, and Bailey knew it. It wasn’t even as if his job was exciting. Insurance broking was hardly thrilling, game-changing, or going to save the world. He didn’t expect having a pen pal to change his entire life, but it would certainly break the monotony. Hopefully.

He went through the various steps to fill in his details and create a profile, then continued right through to the information on actually writing and sending the letters. It looked straightforward enough.

His mind made up, Bailey immediately went in search of a pen, some nice paper and an envelope. Armed with a print out of exactly what to do when the letter was finished, he settled down at the kitchen table. Instantly, his mind went blank. What the fuck was he meant to say? He didn’t know any soldiers or other military personnel, didn’t know anything about their lives, other than there was a great deal more to it than shooting people and being shot at. His own existence was so fucking boring that he didn’t want to write about it. Unless there were any insomniacs in Afghanistan—telling them about his day would solve that particular condition right away.

After chewing on his biro until it broke, covering his lips and chin with ink, Bailey replaced it, resolving to try harder. He’d tell his pen pal the bare essentials about himself, then ask lots of questions about them and their work. That was bound to rustle up some conversation.

That decided, he began to write, absentmindedly swiping at his inky skin with a tissue. He’d have to scrub it off when he was done with the note. His wrist and hand had begun to ache before he was halfway down the page. He rolled his eyes. He sat on his arse at a desk all day, using a computer. As a result, even writing something short by hand was hard work! There was no way he was going to divulge that particular piece of information to someone that was willing to lay down their life to protect their country.

He just about managed to fill a single side of the A5-sized paper. And that was only because he’d formed large letters and spaced his words and lines out plenty. But he tried not to worry—at least he’d finished it, his first letter to a war zone.
He read through it carefully, relieved to find no mistakes. He’d forgotten how much more difficult—and messy—errors were on the written page. Computers let you edit and rewrite to your heart’s content. No correction fluid or crossings-out necessary.

Finally, he addressed the envelope. It felt like the longest address ever. The area and country was bad enough, even without including the soldier’s name and BFPO address. But it was done—Bailey Hodgkiss had penned a missive to Corporal Nick Rock, currently stationed at Camp Bastion, Helmand Province, Afghanistan.

Now he’d just have to post it and wait for a reply. The website had said his missive would take between one and three weeks to reach Corporal Rock. Then he had to allow for time for him to read it and send a reply. It could be around six weeks before he heard anything. If he heard anything at all.

*****

Blurb:
When lonely insurance broker, Bailey, gets himself a new hobby, he ends up exchanging letters with a war zone. But he’s not expecting what happens next…

Bailey Hodgkiss is lonely and dissatisfied with his boring life as an insurance broker. In an attempt to insert some variety, he signs up to a website to write to serving soldiers. He’s put in touch with Corporal Nick Rock, and over the course of a couple of letters, the two of them strike up a friendship. They begin to divulge their secrets, including their preference for men.
Nick encourages Bailey to add more interests to his life. As a result, Bailey picks up his forgotten hobby, photography, and quickly decides to team it up with his other preferred interest, travel.
Booking a holiday to Rome is his biggest gesture towards a more exciting existence, and he eagerly looks forward to the trip. That is, until Nick says he’s coming home on leave, and it looks as though their respective trips will prevent them from meeting in person. Is there enough of a spark between them to push them to meet, or will their relationship remain on paper only?

Available from: http://lucyfelthouse.co.uk/published-works/letters-to-a-war-zone/

Add to your Goodreads shelves: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20722128-letters-to-a-war-zone

Where can we find you and your books on the web?

Website: http://lucyfelthouse.co.uk
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/lucyfelthousewriter
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/cw1985

And any others you wish to include.

 

2 responses to “Guest Blogger – Lucy Felthouse

  1. This was a sweet interview and Lucy seems really nice about her approach to writing different types of couples. I agree, people are people who fall in love with other people.

    I enjoyed the except, too. I don’t read a lot of erotica, I’m very choosy within the genre and often lean towards regency era, but I may well look more into Lucy Felthouse’s (such an adorable surname) work. 🙂

  2. Thanks for stopping by Willow. I’m glad you enjoyed Lucy’s interview and the excerpt.

Share your thoughts

