Hey, Baby News

Just a quick update on this one.

As suspected, Hey, Baby, hasn’t made the cut for Totally Bound.  I already posted last month about my belief that maybe this story wasn’t going to be right for this particular publisher and I am afraid I was correct in that regard.

I could revise and resubmit the story but in this case I am reluctant to do so as it would mean altering not only the story but the personalities of the two main characters.

So now I need to find a publisher who will accept shorter stories when they are sweet rather than hot.

There is better news regarding One Perfect Wish and I hope to be updating my blog some time soon regarding that submission.

The Heavenly Sins series is still pending, but as you may be aware, was sent in a bit later than the others.

 

12 responses to “Hey, Baby News

  1. julielhayes

    Have you considered Wayward Ink? http://www.waywardinkpublishing.com/

  2. Yes, but it’s a re-release and they are limiting those. Unfortunately most of my stories are re-releases right now due to the Silver debacle.

  3. julielhayes

    I wasn’t aware we were limited re-releases. They’ve taken a re-release from me, and are looking at another, actually a series. Can’t hurt to try. 🙂

  4. That is what Andrew told me when I was emailing him. He said they were more likely to consider re-releases if there were new stories coming too.

    My problem is I have very little new stuff that isn’t already on a first refusal clause elsewhere.

    I do have a sequel written to one of my still homeless Silver stories (with a third started in notes) but not for this particular story. I am kind of looking at Breathless Press for those though as they may fit their fairy tale line and they have just contracted one of my Silver stories to them and would like to send them something new as well as the old.

    What I may have to do is put it on the back burner until I can get some more new stories written so it isn’t just the re-release being offered.

  5. julielhayes

    I have a couple homeless Silver stories. One’s m/f, and I don’t even really know good m/f publishers.

    Or just sub it and see what they say 🙂

    Did I mention I’m an editor there? lol

  6. Most of my Silver stories are still homeless. Some I don’t intend to republish. Two have found homes, one with the contract pending so I haven’t officially announced it yet. Three are still in my poor overworked editor’s queue to read and consider.

    Totally Bound take m/f and they are taking former Silver books.

    Yeah, I knew you were an editor there. LOL

  7. julielhayes

    I can’t believe you’ll have any trouble placing all your work, seriously.

    Totally Bound wants romance, though, and it really isn’t. Plus I seem to remember having an issue with them about something in their contract, what it was I can’t remember off the top of my head.

    Cool lol I’m writing a new story for the Stranded anthology, coming out in October.

  8. This story is cursed I think. I have taken a look at the submission guidelines. Unfortunately this one is a short story – about 1.5k off novella length. Will have to see about extending it if I intend to submit it to WIP.

  9. The short stories I am not happy with myself. Others I want to revisit and maybe revise before I send them anywhere. It is finding the time to do that.

    Yeah TB is a romance publisher. I have no problems with their contract, but I always say that that is something every individual has to consider for themselves. What is important to one author may not be to another.

  10. julielhayes

    I can’t remember what the issue was, to be honest, but Dark Love is more of a horror story, with a romantic element. But yeah, people die lol

  11. That Stranded anthology does look intriguing. Will have to give it some thought myself.

  12. julielhayes

    Awesome! I look forward to seeing what you come up with 🙂

    There’s another one coming up that’s not posted yet, Encore, which involves a list of different musicals, one per author, I think.

Share your thoughts

