Time to be realistic

Spent all afternoon and most of the evening working on blog posts and interviews for the release of Forbidden Waters.  Got a lot done but I have lost another day where I have not been working on the story I wanted to get done for the deadline at the end of the month.

I think I am going to have to let this one pass by and put the story on the back burner again.

With a new release in less than two weeks and five more stories in various stages at two different publishers I think perhaps I have enough on my plate at the moment.  I thought with it being a short story I could squeeze it in, but it is not looking likely at all.

Plus, even if it did get done and submitted I don’t think it would be up to par with the rest of my submissions due to it being rushed so much.

I also have to consider that if by some miracle it did get accepted the release date falls in November (NaNoWriMo month) and I already have a re-release in October and a new release in December.

Added to that the Heavenly Sins series edits are likely to be very time consuming and without knowing the release dates yet I have no idea when they are likely to hit my inbox.

Finally, I want to make sure that the second Mermen & Magic book is submitted to Totally Bound by the end of the year so that it is well in time for release next year.

I think I am kidding myself about whether I can get any short story done right now and foolishly I had two I had hoped to get done over the next two months.

One is my dinosaur story and the other is an extension of my Cruise story which was posted as a flash fiction back in June for the Beth Wylde event.  I don’t think either of them are going to be done and rather than write and submit stories that are not up to standard, I think I would rather devote the time I need to towards promoting and marketing the books that I have already got in the pipeline.

So yes, it is time for me to be realistic about exactly how much I can fit into my days.  Rather than spending the next couple of weeks writing a new story, I want to take the time to ensure that my mermen are properly introduced to the world, and that means writing blog posts, doing interviews, and begging for blog spots from those who will let me visit.

Available for pre-order from Totally Bound
Release date at Totally Bound – 1st August 2014
General Release – 29th August 2014

4 responses to “Time to be realistic

  1. Tell us more about your dinosaur story! What is it about?

  2. It’s about two time travellers who end up stuck in the past during the time of the dinosaurs. One of them is gay, the other is straight, and it was supposed to be a “if there are no other options” story.

  3. I know my blog doesn’t have a particular themed, and I know it’s not even that well-known in the blogsphere, but I’d welcome a blog post from you about your new book. I’m excited for its release. 🙂

  4. Thanks Willow. I am always happy to visit anyone. Just let me know when might be suitable.

Share your thoughts

