Tease Me Thursday

Potions and Prisons (WIP)

I have a lot of projects on the go at the moment, but this story is probably one of my favourites that I have written this year.  Not that I have written a great deal this year, but it has been rather hectic.

Potions and Prisons is the tentative title for a new story set in the fairy tale world that was first introduced in Let Down Your Hair (currently out of print).  It is the story of a woodcutter called John who visits a witch to buy a love potion but finds himself sharing the witch’s prison.  This is an unedited 7 paragraphs from the first chapter of the story.

“You don’t understand,” the witch growled at him. “It’s midnight, you have to leave.”

“Why?” John asked. “What happens at midnight? Do you turn into a pumpkin?”

The witch replied with a very foul word that John had never imagined coming from the lips of a lady, even if she was a witch.

“Too late,” the witch said with a sigh of frustration.

“What’s too late?” John asked. He looked behind him to where the witch pointed. “Where did the forest go?”

The trees had vanished, in fact everything outside of the witch’s garden was gone. Only a vast expanse of dirt and rocks could be seen in every direction.

John turned back to the witch. “What did you do?” he demanded.

Unlike Prince Aiden, who was not the brightest of men, I promise John will quickly figure out that the witch is in fact a man.  😉

This story won’t be going anywhere just yet since I have too much on this year to get another story in the works just yet, but I am hoping that I can find all my fairy tales a new home in 2015.

For more Tease Me Thursday posts please click here.

6 responses to “Tease Me Thursday

  1. Ooh, intriguing, can’t wait to see where you take this.

  2. Aw, thanks Julie. The story has actually been written for some time. I just want to finish the next two in the series before I try to get any of the four contracted. It is on my to do list for 2015. When hopefully I won’t be drowning under edits like I seem to be at the moment. Just sent the latest round back a few minutes ago.

  3. Sounds like a great problem to have lol Drowning in edits, that is. You deserve to be, you’re a very talented writer, LM 🙂

  4. LOL. Thanks. I am just not good at planning. With 5 releases/re-releases over the next three months it is a bit manic. 2015 I am going to try to plan a little better – which is why the fairy tales are going nowhere until after Christmas.

  5. Sometimes, though, you’re at the mercy of your publisher, so the timing isn’t always yours lol

  6. Yeah, that is definitely the case this week. I got my blog tour details (10 stops) from Breathless Press on the same day I got line edits on a 60k story from Totally Bound. At least those are now out of the way and I might be able to get some writing done this next week.

    Just two more lots of edits to get through before the end of the year and one of those is a novella, so thankfully shorter.

Share your thoughts

