The Next Call by Sue Brown (Guest Blogger) #giveaway

When I submitted this story I knew I was taking a risk. The Next Call is not your conventional boy meets boy love story. Nothing about it is conventional. I’m just lucky that Dreamspinner are prepared to take chances with me and I appreciate it very much.

Humour is something I can’t do without in a story. Even in my characters’ darkest hours I find myself writing something that makes them laugh, even if it’s a weak and feeble sound. The day my father died we spent the evening telling bad jokes. My father would have appreciated it very much. I’ve talked about this before and people have said their families are just the same. We get through the bad times by finding humour in the oddest of the circumstances: the seagull that pooped on the flowers at my dad’s funeral, the vicar that couldn’t get my mum’s name right at my mum’s. Little things that break the tension. That also happened at my wedding when my nephew sprayed his blackcurrant juice during a particularly solemn moment. All I could hear were giggles behind us. I’m really glad the juice didn’t reach my dress. I might have had a sense of humour failure then.

My sense of humour fails me on occasion, but it can be guaranteed to get me into trouble. I have been told off more than once on Facebook for making a snarky remark to friends of mine. They have got it (because we have the same type of humour), other people haven’t. Now I’m careful to make my comments away from the public forum. Well, most of the time anyway. Sometimes you’ve just got to let rip.

On the blog tour I want to highlight the amazing work LGBT helplines and charities do for people who really need them. I’ve focused on the UK because that is where I live. Please take the time to look at their sites.

PACE has been around since 1985. It’s an LGBT+ mental health charity promoting the emotional well-being of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans community, Their services include counselling, advocacy, workshops and a youth group.

SURPRISE MINI-REVIEW by L.M. BROWN!

As visitors to my blog will know, I am not a review site and I don’t take requests for reviews.  However, occasionally when I am hosting an author their book will catch my eye and I will buy it.  This is one of those cases, and for a change, I have actually managed to read the story before Sue’s visit here.  So she gets a surprise review as well.  I hope she doesn’t mind.

Let me say that I am a huge fan of relationships that begin via phones or online, i.e. where the two heroes have not actually met and have no idea what the other looks like. It is one of my favourite tropes.  So I had to pick this one up and read it this last weekend.

I thoroughly enjoyed this well-written and engaging story.

Mark is Mr Oblivious, in more ways than one.  He doesn’t even know when he is the object of someone’s attention and that is what makes him such a sweetie.  He is in some ways, very much an innocent, as one character points out to him.

Ricky is a man trapped in a life that is a lie.  He wants out, but doesn’t know how to achieve that.  His desperation leads him to call the Surrey LGBT helpline and that is where Mark, a volunteer at the helpline, picks up his call.

The story is told from Mark’s point of view and we follow him from his first contact with Ricky to the story’s eventual conclusion.  What I liked about this story was that Mark doesn’t sit around waiting for Ricky to gather up his courage.  He does not let his life revolve around Ricky, but even so he is there for him whenever he can be.  Through their telephone conversations they become friends.  Mark doesn’t know if they will ever have more than that though because Ricky is extremely reluctant to meet Mark face to face.  For Mark though, their talks are becoming as important to him as they are to Ricky.  Watching their relationship progress was a delight.

I would recommend you read this one with a box of tissues because there are some definite tearjerker moments – this coming from someone who rarely cries over books.  Your heart will break for lots of the characters through the course of the story, not just Mark and Ricky, but also Ian and Jamie and a whole host of others.

I really hope there is a sequel one day showing how Mark and Ricky get along.

PUBLISHER: Dreamspinner Press
COVER ARTIST: Christy Caughie
RELEASE DATE: 4th February 2015
LENGTH: 169 Pages

BLURB: Mark Grayson volunteers for an LGBT helpline, the same one that helped him through his teenage years. One day he takes a call from “Ricky,” a suicidal man being forced into a marriage he doesn’t want. For weeks Mark talks to Ricky and provides support, but he’s frustrated by the lack of information Ricky provides and the decisions he’s making. In the meantime, Mark starts a relationship with another volunteer. Then tragedy strikes and Mark takes time away from the helpline, but when he comes back, Ricky is waiting. Mark realizes Ricky is stronger than before and their relationship changes, but Mark isn’t sure what their future holds if their relationship is destined to be at the end of the phone.

BUY LINKS: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=6006

AUTHOR BIO: Sue Brown is owned by her dog and two children. When she isn’t following their orders, she can be found plotting at her laptop. In fact she hides so she can plot and has gotten expert at ignoring the orders.

Sue discovered M/M erotica at the time she woke up to find two men kissing on her favorite television series. The series was boring; the kissing was not. She may be late to the party, but she’s made up for it since, writing fan fiction until she was brave enough to venture out into the world of original fiction.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Website: http://www.suebrownstories.com/
Blog: http://suebrownsstories.blogspot.co.uk/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/suebrownstories
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/suebrownstories

GIVEAWAY DETAILS:

Because two of her book tours (for The Next Call and Stolen Dreams) are going to run simultaneously, we have decided we would have a common giveaway for both the tours! It makes for an awesome giveaway as you’ll see 😀

There will be FIVE winners chosen from this contest:

  • First Winner will get a $20 Amazon Gift Card.
  • Second Winner will get a paperback copy of Stolen Dreams. (The contest is open for everyone and not limited to a specific region!)
  • First Runner up will get e-copies of The Next Call and Stolen Dreams
  • Two Second Runners up will win an e-copy of either The Next Call or Stolen Dreams.

Contest Begins: 26th January, 2015
Contest Ends: 28th February, 2015

Rafflecopter Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0f7bf72010/?

BLOG TOUR SCHEDULE

Week 1

Feb 2ndThe Novel Approach – Guest Post

Andrew Q. Gordon – Promo Spotlight

Feb 3rdAlicia Nordwell – Author Interview

Diverse Reader – Book Review + Author Interview

Feb 4thElin Gregory – Promo Spotlight

Sinfully Sexy – Guest Post

Feb 5thMM Good Book Reviews – Book Review + Promo Spotlight

Elisa: My Reviews and Ramblings – Guest Post

Feb 6thMolly Lolly – Author Interview

Prism Book Alliance – Guest Post

Week 2

Feb 9thBecause Two Men Are Better Than One – Guest Post

RJ Scott – Book Review

Feb 10thNic Starr – Promo Spotlight

Inked Rainbow Reads – Book Review + Author Interview

Feb 11thWicked Faeries Tales and Reviews – Book Review + Author Interview

Love Bytes Reviews – Author Interview

Feb 12thBFD Book Blog – Book Review

Queer Town Abbey – Book Review

Feb 13th3 Chicks After Dark – Book Review

Amanda C. Stone – Guest Post

Week 3

Feb 16thFoxylutely Books –Book Review

Fallen Angel Reviews – Book Review

Feb 17thL.M. Brown – Guest Post

Crystal’s Many Reviewers – Book Review

Feb 18thGGR Review – Author Interview

  1. P. Barnaby – Guest Post

Feb 19thCharlie Cochet – Guest Post

Feb 20thBike Book Reviews – Book Review + Author Interview

My Fiction Nook – Book Review

Tour Organizer
Creative Minds Promotions

Share your thoughts

