And so it begins…

NaNo-2015-Participant-Banner

It is Sunday 1st November 2015 and has been for nearly 11 hours.  I have not managed to write a single word of my story yet.  This is not a good start.

In my infinite wisdom *yeah right* I decided to stay up until midnight to get a few words down on the page right when the event starts.  I figured since I hadn’t been exhausting myself at work all day and don’t have to get up before dawn for work the following day, I could do it.  Nope, when midnight arrived I was falling asleep at my keyboard.  I guess I’m not as young as I used to be.  So, I called it a night and then overslept until 10am.  So much for an early start!

But that doesn’t mean I am giving up.  I am aiming for five thousand words today, any more would be a bonus.

My first decision on my writing is going to be what scene I start with.  I rarely write in order and never for my longer stories.  I have no doubt this will be the case with Shifting Currents as well. But I think I am going to be writing the first scene first and see how it goes from there.

I have two challenges to face for this story.

The first is the slightly historical aspect since portions of it are set entirely in the past and from the point of view of a character who is living in that era, rather than simply observing it.  Making sure he doesn’t use modern terms is going to be something I need to keep an eye on.

The second is going to be even more difficult because one of my heroes is Delwyn, who is blind whenever he is in his merman form.  Although I have already written Kai’s story (which is the as yet unpublished book three of the series) Kai has the power to see anything in the present, including what is right in front of him.  Kai can and does use his powers to see when he needs to.  Delwyn, who sees the past in his visions, can see nothing of what is around him in the present.  Remembering that is definitely going to be tricky.

I am not sure how frequently I am going to be updating my blog with my progress.  I doubt it will be every day, but I am going to try to make sure it is at least once or twice a week.

Good luck to everyone who is taking part in the November madness.

And if you are looking for a writing buddy I can be found here.

Share your thoughts

