One of those days

NaNo-2015-Participant-BannerAs every writer knows, there are always going to be days when you just can’t face it.  I have no doubt whatsoever that if today was any other Monday I would not even be opening my story this evening.  Only because it is NaNoWriMo am I even going to attempt it.

Today has been hell.  As you may know, particularly if you are following my blog, I have a day job.  I often jokingly refer to it at the Evil Day Job.  Today that is Evil with a capital E.

It has been an absolute swine of a day.  I have been stressed out with urgent work, constant interruptions, running around like a lunatic, and nearly coming to blows with another member of staff.  It is a long time since I had a day as awful as this one has been.

I left work with a headache starting.

My commute home, where I usually relax with a book, was on a train that seemed to be full of screaming kids.  My headache worsened with every minute of the journey.

Right now I have a pounding in my right temple and no desire to write.  I just want to lie down in a dark room with a damp cloth on my forehead.

If it was last Monday I would be doing just that.

But it’s not.  It’s only the 2nd November.  And it’s NaNoWriMo.

And that is why I have my story open and my 2000 words target set for the day.

Everyone has days when we don’t feel like writing, when other stresses are forefront of our minds, and when we just want to curl up in a corner and pretend we haven’t committed to our goals.  For me that is today, but I am going to dig out one of my inspirational pics and try my very best to get those words down on the page.

Bird Advice 5

6 responses to “One of those days

  1. Hang in there LM you can do this.

  2. November always manages to throw some sort of road block into my writing plans. It isn’t always easy, but NaNo means you have lots of people online to support your and cheer you on.

  3. I usually hit a block at some point, but not on the second day.

  4. At least you have plenty of time left in the month to make up for lost time.

  5. There is that. I am getting some words down tonight. Not quite got to 1000 yet, and aiming for 2000, but I am at least writing. Hoping to hit 2k soon so I can rest my eyes and shake off the headache.

Share your thoughts

