NaNoWriMo Update

NaNo-2015-Participant-BannerIt seems that a number of my writing buddies over at the NaNoWriMo site are writing demons. There are three who have already hit the 20,000 word mark, and one who is approaching 40,000.

Congratulations to the three of you, you know who you are!

I have hit the 11,000 word mark today which is right where I wanted to be at at this point.  I did manage to get my 2,000 words done on Monday, despite my headache after the Evil Day Job.  I think that is one of the days I am going to have to remember when NaNo is over, to remind myself that I can do my “other job” even after the most stressful of days.

Despite my mermen being the most sexual of creatures, that first 11,000 only has one sex scene in it. I hope my readers continue to be patient and enjoy my plot driven stories.

Unlike last November, this time I feel like my story is going where I want it to.  After book three gave me such trouble, I was concerned that this one might be equally difficult, but thankfully it is going smoothly.

Surprisingly, I am still writing the story in order, scene by scene, rather than skipping ahead to scenes that are talking to me.  I am not sure if that will happen for the whole of the story, but if it does it will be the first time I have written a novel of this length in order.

I am really enjoying writing Delwyn and Fabian’s story and will be sharing another snippet at the weekend.

Something else I would like to do this month is share some information about my characters – mini-profiles if you like.  So look out for those coming up.  I am thinking one a week would be doable, even around NaNoWriMo.  Delwyn and Fabian are certainly going to be done, but if anyone has preferences for other characters, let me know and I will see what I can do.

5 responses to “NaNoWriMo Update

  1. I’m glad to hear that NaNo is progressing so smoothly for you, and your story is cooperating! It’s always really valuable to have the reminder that if we make writing a priority, we can find time for it around existing commitments.

  2. Looks like you are doing really well on your own project. 🙂

  3. 11,000? 20,000? 40,000? Way to make my 7,000 so far seem very paltry. And why the hell is someone who can write 40,000 words in four days bothering with Nanowrimo? They’ll be done tomorrow.

  4. A lot of people have higher targets than 50k. I am aiming for 75k to 80k and a completed story myself. That is why I am pushing for a bit more than the daily amount.

    7k means you are right on track and doing great. 🙂

  5. I am! It’s kind of crazy. I’ve never had a NaNo go so well. I decided to try some new things and they’re working amazingly. If I can keep this up, I plan to do a blog post Monday, saying what I changed and what effect that had in case other writers want to try this.

Share your thoughts

