#NaNoWriMo Update

NaNo-2015-Participant-BannerI am now more than half way through through the NaNoWriMo target of 50,000 words.  If I want to get my whole 70k+ story completed though, I still have a long way to go.

Yesterday was my best day for writing so far this month.  It has given me a boost that means I could even, potentially, take an evening off from writing if I wanted to.

I didn’t take tonight off though.  I am really liking seeing all those little green boxes on my monthly calendar.  I have never had a month of total green, but would quite like to see one at some point.

The story is coming together and I am really surprised to find that I am still writing it in order.  I haven’t skipped over any scenes yet or jumped ahead to a scene that is begging to be written.

That doesn’t mean I don’t have concerns though.  My biggest worry is that the story isn’t going to be long enough.  I am sure it will hit 50k without any worries.  I am just not positive it will reach 70k and my publisher requirements say it must.

Normally, when writing erotic romance, it is remarkably easy to slip in a few sex scenes if you want to boost your word count.  I don’t like doing that though. I am a plot whore first and foremost and in this particular story it would be almost impossible to spice it up to extend it.

In the first 30k of this story there is relatively little sex and no prospect for any more than is already there.

So, if I need to stretch out this story it will have to be done in another way. I just need to figure out how.

But that is a worry for another day later in the month.  Right now, my challenge is to get that first draft written and that is right on course.

That’s all for this update, other than to say that if you missed it yesterday, do go check out my giveaway for a paperback set of the complete Heavenly Sins trilogy.

One response to “#NaNoWriMo Update

  1. Excellent progress! I’m going to hit the halfway point today (all going well, that is!).

    I’m sure that once you finish the first draft, you’ll see opportunities to expand. Once the pressure of producing words everyday is off, ideas you never expected will come.

Share your thoughts

