Procrastinator Alert #NaNoWriMo

NaNo-2015-Participant-BannerIt is confession time, I’m afraid.  You see, this week I have been stumbling slightly with my story and far too easily distracted from my project.

The distractions have been varied and include a blog post written by an anonymous person in the community that got me riled up mid-week, the dreadful terror attacks on Paris at the end of the week, stress at the day job, Cookie Jam, You Tube, Amazon, and other online stores.

Everywhere I have turned, there has been something stopping me from working on my story. Or let me re-phrase that, I have let distractions stop me from writing.

You see, when you’re a writer, you must hold yourself accountable for how you spend your time.

Of course there sometimes will be emergencies, unexpected visitors, and times when you can’t write – when I am at the evil day job for example.

But here I am going to own up to the simple truth.  I could have written a lot more this week than I have, and I only have myself to blame.

Self-discipline is something all writers must have, and it has been lacking in me this week.

That doesn’t mean I am going to give up though.  I have a story to write and I intend to do so.

The good news is that I did manage to scrape the bare minimum I set myself of 2,000 words each day.  I didn’t manage my intended higher target yesterday, but the really productive day I had last Sunday means I am still slightly ahead on my personal goals.

For this coming week I am off of work and need to make a decision as to what I am going to write each day.  I have decided to aim for 2,500 to 3,000 words each day.  Anything more is a bonus.  That way I can spend some time relaxing and being distracted by the shinies and whatever book I am reading.

I still intend to do the facts about Delwyn post, but have decided to put that off until mid-week.  No, not for procrastination purposes, but because this post is going live today and there will be another one later with the winner announcement for my giveaway that will be ending shortly.  I try to avoid even two posts in a day (though make exceptions for winner announcements), and I think three is a bit too much.

Good luck to everyone who is still plugging away at their NaNoWriMo story.

Share your thoughts

