Why #NaNoWriMo?

NaNo-2015-Participant-BannerThere are a lot of writers who take part in NaNoWriMo as well as a lot who don’t.  Writing the first draft of a novel in 30 days isn’t for everyone, but if you think it might work for you then I would recommend giving it a try, even if it is only once.

I love the community and support that I find during NaNoWriMo and that is a huge motivator for me, but it isn’t the only reason I participate.

As those following my blog will already know, this year I have been writing the fourth story in my Merman & Magic series.

The first story in the series was actually two previous attempts at NaNoWriMo. It was my very first attempt as well as my fifth attempt when I scrapped the original story (a young adult adventure story) and re-wrote it from scratch as the menage romance it is today. Yes, I know, quite a difference that, isn’t it?

But what about books two and three?

Well, book two was my April 2014 Camp NaNoWriMo novel and the first draft was written during that month.

Book three is the only one of the series that was not written for any NaNoWriMo event and it has been the bane of my life for most of 2015.  While writing it I have picked it apart, moved things around, changed my mind mid-flow, and that first draft took forever to get right.  It should be going to my publisher over the next few weeks, and I hope to high heavens that they like it because if it is a revise and resub I may just have a complete breakdown over it.

I can’t help but wonder if that story might not have been less trouble if I had chosen to do it for NaNoWriMo.

Sadly, on my hard drive there are a lot of half written stories that I have put to one side, probably forever in some cases, where I have got to a point in the story where I suddenly want to go back and change something.  What might seem like a small change becomes a huge re-write and those half written stories become unfinished WIPs.  Those first drafts simply don’t get completed and I know if I wrote them with the same philosophy as I write my NaNoWriMo stories most of those would be finished.

Today I am on the home stretch for Shifting Currents.  I reached the 70,000 mark yesterday with a 9,000 word record for the month written on that day.  I have a couple more scenes to write, three if I decide to include the epilogue I have in mind, then that first draft is done and ready for me to pick apart and polish up over the next year.

I’ll be updating my blog again when I have truly finished and will hopefully be posting a short excerpt from the story.

If you are participating in NaNoWriMo, good luck!

Share your thoughts

