Bad Author #NaNoWriMo #amwriting

Bird Advice 5

I have been a really bad author and haven’t been updating my blog much at all recently, even though I intended to report on my Camp NaNoWriMo progress. It is the 20th of the month and I haven’t even done one update here.  Oops.

I did sign up for Camp and the first week went really well.  I wrote like crazy and completed the first draft of the Heavenly Sins prequel in record time.  It went so well that I decided to combine the prequel and sequel into one long story.

Yep, you read that right.  With only the vaguest idea of the plot of the second story, I dove right in and came to a bit of a grinding halt.  However, things are starting to come together and I am hoping to get this story wrapped up this month – well, the first draft at least.

Then it will be onto a new project, one that has been pestering me all month, because we all know that the lure of a new project is always at its height when you should be concentrating on something else.

I have added tons of notes to my project – when I should be writing my Camp story – and can’t wait to get really stuck into it.

The new project is very different since it will be a YA sci-fi story, which, if I get it published, will almost certainly be under a different pen name, as I would want to keep any young eyes away from my currently published stories.  I know not all authors agree with that – building up a following for a pen name is hard enough. I am kind of dreading trying to do it for a second one, especially since I haven’t exactly managed it with L.M. Brown yet.  Then again, maybe the second time around I will get it right.

Share your thoughts

