Distracted by the Shiny!

CNW_Participant

Camp has barely begun and the distractions are already there, tempting you away from the project you are supposed to be working on.

The latest distraction for me is the Aeon Timeline program.  It looks so tempting and it is one that apparently works well alongside Scrivener, which I am still using for drafting my stories.

The makers of Aeon Timeline are one of the sponsors of Camp NaNo and all participants get 20% off the price of the software.

I have to ask myself whether it is something I would actually use or not.  I have to say, looking at my notes on the Mermen & Magic series and the timelines, timescales etc, it is something I would find helpful, at least for series stories.

I like the idea of being able to check how old someone is at a glance wherever I am in the series. We’ll not mention how long it took me to figure out how old Jake, Kyle, and Finn are in this, book five…. but let’s just say I got it wrong and had to start over trying to count how many months it took various characters to get from Atlantis to England and back again through several books.

Obviously, for Mermen & Magic, I am on book five of six and I already know the final book in the series won’t have this issue.  But for future series, this could be very helpful.

And I do have more series planned, though I am determined not to start any new series until both Mermen & Magic and Fairy Tales for All are written.

The “fantasy calendar” option is another one that I think would be quite useful for me.  Several stories I want to write are ones set in other worlds, where seasons and years simply don’t work the same way as they do in the here and now.

I would be interested to know if anyone has used Aeon Timeline before and, if so, what you think about it, and how easy it is to use.  I can’t imagine anything having a steeper learning curve than Scrivener, which I am sure I barely scratch the surface of, even after several years of using it, but I have never used a program like Aeon before.

Share your thoughts

