Author Interview – Jeanne St James

GuestBlogger

Please welcome Jeanne St James, who is here today for the first of two visits to my blog this week. 

Jeanne St. James is an erotic romance author who loves an Alpha male (or two). She was only 13 when she started writing since it gave her an escape from teenage angst! Her first paid published piece was an erotic story in Playgirl magazine. Her first erotic romance novel, Banged Up, was published in 2009. She is happily owned by farting French bulldogs. She writes M/F, M/M, and M/M/F ménages.

She has a few new releases coming up in 2016 and 2017. So keep an eye on her website at www.jeannestjames.com or sign up for her newsletter.

What genre(s) do you write and how did you get into it/them?

I write contemporary erotic romance. I intended to write category romances back in the day, but when I finally got the nerve to submit a manuscript to a publisher, e-books were getting popular and I decided to make my romances erotic since they were selling well.

Is there any genre(s) that you haven’t written yet which you would like to?  If so, which genre(s)?

I have an idea for a book that would just be a fiction novel (non-romance). I can’t put my finger on how it would be categorized yet.

What do you think makes for a good hero and/or heroine?

Chemistry! You can’t have any kind of romance without it.

Which do you find easier to write: series or standalone stories?

I don’t really have a preference, but I’ve been writing series. Some of them can be read as stand-alones.

What do you enjoy most about writing?

I enjoy losing myself in my story. Getting into my character’s heads! It’s an escape for me.

Do you write your stories in order from start to finish or do you write out of order?

I try to write start to finish. But if a scene pops in my head, I write it down right away and fit it in later.

Do you plot out the stories before you start writing, or do you let the characters take over?  Or is it a bit of both?

I’m a pantser. I usually start with a direction but my characters take over and tell me how it’s going to go.

Where do you get your ideas from?

Nowhere in particular. Sometimes a random thought or from the voices in my head. LOL!

How do you keep disciplined in your writing?

I’m self-driven and a bit obsessive. I also keep a spreadsheet to track my daily word count.

What are the best and worst things about being a published author?

Self-doubt is the worst. Especially if you run across a bad review. The best thing is that I get to share my stories with anyone willing to read them!

How did you get into male/male romances?  What do you like about writing them?

I originally wrote my first m/m story because of a special call for submissions at a publisher. I wrote a novella called Rip Cord. That book has now been re-released with a new publisher (Loose Id) and is the first book of a trilogy. The first two novellas have a HFN ending and the final book has a HEA ending.

If you also write male/female romances, which do you find easier to write?

I find m/f easier to write ONLY because it’s easier to keep the characters straight when it comes to pronouns like he/he or he/she.

Despite the growing market for same sex romances, it is still a long way from being mainstream.  Do you see a time when they make it to the bestseller lists?

Yes, I think they’ll get there eventually.

There seems to be some controversy about heterosexual women writing male/male romances, and whether they should or not.  Have you encountered this and what is your opinion on the matter?

I have not encountered it yet, but I’ve heard of the controversy. I shrug it off. If I can write the male point of view in a m/f romance, why can’t I write two male points of view? And I also write ménages that are m/m/f.

When did you write your first ménage story, and how did this come about?

Honestly I don’t remember. Double Dare started out as a m/f story and then Ty (the third person in the threesome) just appeared in a scene and then boom, it was a ménage. I had so much fun writing that story and it’s the book I started dabbling with light BDSM in my novels. It ended up being a bestseller on All Romance eBooks and, even though it was published in 2010, it still sells very well.

What form does your ménage usually take?  (eg, all men, all women or a mixture)

My ménages are m/m/f, so the men are bisexual/gay. All my ménages so far are also interracial. My Dare series is my ménage series (but can be read as stand-alones.) Double Dare was published back in January 2010 and the second in the series, Daring Proposal, will be release January of 2017. SEVEN years apart! I am currently writing the third book in that series: Dare to be Three.

Which do you find easier to write: romances with only two participants, or those with three or more? 

I like to write with three participants because you get three points of view of the relationship, I think it gives you a more well-rounded view of a complex relationship.

If you were a shape-shifter, what animal would you be?

A mermaid.

What do you like to do to relax when you aren’t writing?

I read, watch movies, and do yoga.

Who are your favourite authors when reading for inspiration?

Emma Chase, J.R. Ward, Katherine Sutcliffe, Laura Kinsale, Laurell K. Hamilton

What is your favourite genre to read?

I tend to read paranormal/urban fantasy.

Do you like to travel?  What are your favourite places to visit?

I love to travel and try to vacation twice a year. I love to go either to a lake in the mountains or a beach in the Caribbean. I plan on retiring in Curacao, an island near Aruba. One of my favorite places right now is Longboat Key, Florida because I like to snorkel right off of the beach.

Is there anywhere you would like to visit which you have not had chance to yet?

Way too many to list. I have a long bucket list!

Do you like to cook?  What is your specialty dish?

I love to cook and bake. I don’t really have any one specialty dish. But I enjoy making soups.

What are you working on at the moment, and what are we likely to see from you in the coming months?

I am currently writing the third book in the Dare Ménage series, Dare to be Three. Daring Proposal (the second book in my Dare series) is in the editing stage, that will release 1/3/17. Brothers in Blue: Marc, the second book in my Brothers in Blue trilogy is in the contract phase. And tomorrow you will spotlight my newest release, the final novella in the Rip Cord trilogy, Rip Cord: The Ever After.

Please tell us about your latest book.

My most recent releases are the first two novellas in the Rip Cord trilogy. They were released together in a combined edition.

Blurbs:

The Reunion
Gil Davis hated high school. Ever the geek, he has no intentions of attending his 10th year class reunion. The last thing he wants is to relive the taunting and teasing he received during his teenage years. However there is one thing he misses from high school: the star Varsity football player. The one he had a crush on from the first day he laid eyes on him. But the last thing he expects is the now pro football player to come back to their home town to attend a lame high school reunion. Known as the Bad Boy of the NFL, Ripley “Rip” Cord, not only shows up, but shows up without a date and an eye for Gil.

The Weekend
Geek extraordinaire Gil Davis hooked up with his long-time crush Rip Cord, the Bad Boy of the NFL, during their tenth year class reunion. It was a dream come true for Gil, so when Rip surprises Gil with a trip to the pro football player’s cabin on the lake two weeks later, Gil looks forward to their weekend alone. Since Rip is still deep in the closet due to his career, Gil will take any stolen moments they have. Little does Gil know, those moments will be filled with a blindfold and ropes, as well as a bad tumble down the mountain.

But a few bumps and bruises won’t stop Gil from spending precious time with Rip and his toys. However when the weekend ends, will Rip disappear again? Or will Rip want to take their relationship to the next level?

Excerpt from Rip Cord: The Reunion:

Ripley “Rip” Cord was just as tall as Gil remembered. Around five inches taller than him, not that Gil was a squirt. The football player was at least six foot two.

And every inch of him was muscle. Not lean muscle, but heavy muscle. Heavy, rounded, lickable muscle.

Gil glanced at Katie. “You’re drooling.”

Katie wiped her mouth with the back of her hand. “As if you aren’t.”

Gil snagged her wrist and backpedaled until he rammed into something hard. It was the table with the place settings.

Gil peered over Katie’s shoulder to see if his klutziness had caught Rip’s attention.

Luckily it hadn’t. The man was completely surrounded by their old classmates clamoring for his attention.

Throughout the years, he’d followed Rip’s career in the newspapers, on the evening news, on ESPN.

And in the tabloids.

Rip was well-known. Unfortunately it was as the “bad boy” of the National Football League. He started out with a great career in the NFL, drafted straight out of college. He was one of the best wide receivers in the league, but it was all his rumored problems that kept him in the spotlight, not his stats.

And that famous wide receiver was here. Now.

Purchase Links:

Loose Id: http://www.loose-id.com/rip-cord.html

All Romance eBooks: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-ripcord-2155694-166.html

Amazon (Kindle): https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01M59O308/ref=x_gr_w_bb?ie=UTF8&tag=x_gr_w_bb20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B01M59O308&SubscriptionId=1MGPYB6YW3HWK55XCGG2

Barnes & Noble (Nook): http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/%22Jeanne%20St.%20James%22?Ntk=P_key_Contributor_List&Ns=P_Sales_Rank&Ntx=mode+matchall

iBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/rip-cord/id1166677521?mt=11

Google Books: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Jeanne_St_James_Rip_Cord?id=Gds8DQAAQBAJ

Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/rip-cord

Where can we find you and your books on the web?

Website: http://www.jeannestjames.com
Blog:   http://jeannestjames.blogspot.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JeanneStJamesAuthor/
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/jeannestjames
Newsletter Sign-Up: https://www.MyAuthorBiz.com/ENewsletter.php?acct=JJ4625816541890

Share your thoughts

