Adventures in Self-Publishing

selfpub

Following on from my post the other day, I have been working hard at getting Skin Deep ready for self-publishing on Amazon.

I found a great pre-made cover over on Meredith Russell’s website.

I have also been inundated with offers to help with the formatting of the book. As and when I look at other sales venues, I may take up one of those offers.  For the moment though, I am formatting for Amazon myself and hopefully haven’t messed it up.

Biggest hassle was the table of contents.  I gave up on the instructions on Amazon’s site which simply refused to work for me.  Instead I did the table manually myself after finding this great blog post which is far more helpful than Amazon.

Lisa Worrall was very helpful in sorting out my copyright confusion since these vary so greatly from publisher to publisher and I wasn’t entirely sure what Amazon required for this.

I have done a full read through of the story again, just in case there were any lingering typos that got missed last time.  I couldn’t see any and managed to resist the temptation to start messing drastically with the story, reminding myself that changing it will mean getting it re-edited, something I would like to avoid.

I deliberated over categories and keywords and realised that my book is most unhelpful with regard to the former.  It isn’t exactly paranormal, or sci-fi, or plain contemporary.  Hopefully people will manage to find it without too much trouble.  As for keywords, most of the ones that sprang to my mind were in the description already so I may end up changing some of those down the line.

I have done as much as I can at the moment, but as soon as the cover art is done (I have seen the first draft and it looks perfect) I should be ready to upload the story to Amazon and get it up for sale.

I am intending to put it up for $0.99.  It is a short story (just under 14,000 words) and a re-release that had been available for just over a year.  One thing on my to do list if I carry on self-publishing after this story is to have a good look at pricing of other books on there.  I am a bit naughty in that if I like the blurb of a book I buy it without checking the price, which has no doubt resulting in my buying some over-priced stories as well as some great bargains.

So, there you have it, despite everything, I am dipping my toe into the world of self-publishing, though not without some trepidation.

At this point I don’t have much to lose.  This story was already written and has been out of print since early 2014.  Other than the cost of the cover art, I have spent nothing but a few days of time on getting it ready to self-publish.

Unless my first attempt is a total disaster, I think my intention will be to stick with main publishers for longer stories (anything 20k or longer) and try to self-publish my short stories. The exception being if the short story is written for a specific publisher open call.

So, the short story I was intending to finish before I return to the Evil Day Job tomorrow (the superhero one) is barely started, but at least I can say that the last few days have been productive in the world of writing.

Share your thoughts

