Welcome Darien Scott from What Happens in Bangkok

Please give a warm welcome to Darien Scott who is here for an interview (aka grilling) today!

Name (Character): Darien Scott

Book(s) you feature in: What Happens in Bangkok (so far – 2 more appearances in the upcoming future)

Describe yourself in three words.

Rich rock star

How old are you?

Late 20s

Where do you come from?

Boone, North Carolina

Are you close to your family?

Extremely. I bought a house for my parents and they live next door to me. My brother’s house is next to theirs.

Do you have any pets?

Not home long enough to keep a pet, but someday I hope to.

What was your best/worst subject in school?

Best subject – probably Detention. I’d say I spent more time there than in the classroom. Worst subject – there were so many. No idea which to pick.

Are you the life and soul of the party or more of a wallflower?

LOL – after a couple of shots of vodka – look out the party animal has arrived. Some of my partying days are legendary.

What do you do for a living?

Rock star – internationally renowned – Grammy award winning

What is your dream job?

I am living the dream. The life can be rough. Tours take a lot out of you, but the fame and $$ make it worthwhile.

Where is your favourite place to relax?

My beach house in Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina.

What do you think is your greatest talent?

Uh…this has to be PG right? Hmm, Erika says I make great coffee. So let’s go with that.

What do you think is your biggest achievement?

Getting out of the Black Dragon club alive. To this day I really have no idea how I did it.

What would you like to achieve in the next ten years?

Love. Find the perfect for me woman and settle down – just a little. I think I’ll be touring until I’m a grandpa. Mick Jagger still is. If he can. I can.

What do you think is your biggest weakness?

Women. If you all weren’t so sexy, I wouldn’t get into so much trouble.

Do you have any bad habits?

Oh – so not going there. I wouldn’t know where to start.

Boxers, briefs, or commando?

Yup.

Have you found your partner/mate/love of your life yet?

If you could see the grin on my face, you’d know the answer to that one.

Where did you meet your partner?

In a drag queen club in Bangkok, Thailand

Is your partner the sort of person you expected to fall in love with?

No. She’s real. She’s not one of the pretend people who hang around rock stars. Those girls are good for one thing and a lifemate is not that one thing.

What was your first date like?

Weird. Erika thought I was gay. We went to a Mexican restaurant and watching her eat almost made me – well, let’s just say – it was hot and I don’t mean the food.

What is your favourite thing about your partner?

Her eyes. I love staring into her eyes.

Do you think your partner would change anything about you?  If so, what?

How long of a list do you want? My ego gets a bit big. I’m never home. I’m messy. Demanding.

How would you describe your partner?

I write songs, but trying to put into words my thoughts about Erika – it just leaves me blank. I can’t believe she loves me. That she’s happy to put up with me and my life. She’s just so perfect.

How do you think your partner would describe you?

Hot sexy stud.

How would you describe your relationship?

It’s complicated. Sorry – just couldn’t resist. Erika and I work well together, but the problem is the rest of the world. I’m famous and people like to post things that aren’t true and it’s hard on Erika. She has to trust me to be faithful way more than I have to trust her. I mean, come on, she manages a drag queen club. Not a lot of the guys are going to hit on her. I just need to walk outside and girls start screaming.

Which of you is the more romantic?

Me. Which shocks the hell out of me. Erika’s last relationship didn’t end well and she locked herself up emotionally and hid in her night club. But once I broke through – things got interesting.

Title: What Happens in Bangkok

Blurb:  To save Darien’s life his brother asks, “Can you walk in high heels?”

Erika Bailey, owner/manager of a drag queen club in Bangkok, Thailand has happily settled into all aspects of her new life, except for her lack of a love life. When a new diva auditions, Erika is bewildered over her instant attraction to the blond God, Apollo.

Darien Scott is on vacation after a world tour and mistakenly figures the safest place to be is at The Black Dragon with the head of a Triad. When the club is hit, Darien is the only person to get out alive. Now he’s running from the police and a Triad. Mistake number 1.

Disguised as a drag queen, he’s hired by Erika, but falls hard for his new boss, then struggles with not coming clean with her. Mistake number 2.

Can he fix his mistakes and find a life filled with love or is he headed straight for mistake number 3?

Excerpt:

Erika snuggled against her pillow. The warm aroma of fresh-brewed coffee tried to nudge her awake. She resisted and settled back into sleep. A steady thump-thump invaded her hearing. She rolled over, yawned and opened her eyes. How did I end up here? She tossed a rapid glance to the left, but that side of the bed was neat. No evidence of having been slept on the night before. She lifted the covers and peered under. Dress still on. Well, the good news is… ah hell, I still have clothes on. There is no good news.

She tossed back the covers, hopped off the bed and padded over to the dresser. Pulling open the bottom drawer, she grabbed the last set of stored clean clothes and headed to the bathroom. Showered and dressed, she entered the kitchen and sighed. A pot of coffee waited on the coffeemaker. She poured a mug and took a sip. Damn. He makes better coffee than me. With my coffee and my coffee maker.

After an unsuccessful check of the apartment, she pulled the door open to the fitness room. The mild thump-thump that had been reverberating through the apartment exploded into full heavy metal. The vision of Apollo made her choke on the hot coffee. The only difference between the Greek statue and the vision before her, was her Apollo wore shorts. She scanned the muscles of his back as she lifted her coffee mug to her lips. “Nude would be so much better.”

Apollo heaved the weights over his head with a small grunt. The muscles in his shoulders and back flexed. He lowered the barbell to the floor. His tight shorts curved against his ass.

I so need to find a guy. Erika crossed the room and lowered the volume on the sound system. “Guns ‘n Roses? Really? At this hour on a Sunday morning?”

He turned and grinned. “Paradise City. Gotta love Slash’s guitar work.”

“Yeah, you’re right. Hey!” She glanced at the sound system, then back at Apollo.

He threw his hands up in a gesture of innocence. “Before you say anything, breathe. Don’t get angry.”

“That’s my cell phone.” She ripped it from the sound dock.

“I needed music. Can’t workout to silence.”

“My. Cell phone.”

“Yes, we’ve identified that as your cell phone. Now we’re working on the not gettin’ angry part.”

“You took.” She waved her cell at him. “You…without asking?”

“In my defense.” He strode across the room, stopping a safe distance in front of her. “I tried to wake you this morning with a cup of coffee. I waved a mug under your nose and asked if I could use your phone.”

She swallowed a mouthful of coffee.

“You mumbled something like Gom way. Slp Mer. Which I interpreted as Klingon for, Yes, feel free to use it. So, I did.”

Buy Link(s): Pre-Order Link – http://www.extasybooks.com/what-happens-in-bangkok/

Author Bio

Daryl Devore lives in an in old farmhouse in Ontario, Canada, with her husband, a large salt water aquarium full of fish, a black cat named Licorice and some house ghosts. Her daughter is grown and has flown the nest. Daryl loves to take long walks up her quiet country road, or snow shoe across the back acres and in the summer, kayak along the St. Lawrence River. She has touched a moon rock, a mammoth and a meteorite. She’s been deep in the ocean in a submarine, flew high over Niagara Falls in a helicopter and used the ladies room in a royal palace. Life’s an adventure and Daryl’s having fun living it.

Social Media

Blog – http://myeroticnotions.blogspot.com

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Daryl-Devore/280168402052520

Twitter – http://twitter.com/daryldevore

Google+ – https://plus.google.com/u/0/107866370365154406917

GoodReads Author Page – http://www.goodreads.com/DarylDevore

Amazon Author Page – http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B004TJ1354

LinkedIn – ca.linkedin.com/pub/daryl-devore/58/b42/792/

Pinterest – http://www.pinterest.com/search/pins/?q=Daryl%20Devore

3 responses to “Welcome Darien Scott from What Happens in Bangkok

  1. Thanks for letting me drop by today and bring along my soon to be released What Happens in Bangkok.
    I’ve tweet, FB shared and Google+.

  2. That was a great character interview!!

  3. Thanks Valerie. And thanks for the share and tweet.

Share your thoughts

