B is for Benji

For the second letter of the alphabet I am going to head right back to the start of my publishing career by introducing you to Benji, the ghostly hero of Touch of a Ghost.

The rebel without a body is a throwback to the 50s. The James Dean wannabe, whose life was cut short far too soon.

But haunting doesn’t have to be a frightening business and for Benji he just wants to grasp at a small part of the life he lost. When he meets Drew, a psychic with the ability to see and hear him, he finds that not having a physical heart is no barrier when it comes to falling in love. He just has to convince Drew to give him a chance.

Thankfully Drew is more easily convinced that a ghost is worthy of a relationship than some of the reviewers of this story have been.

This is a story that I have sometimes contemplated returning to again, continuing their journey and seeing how things would progress in this unconventional relationship. I did in fact do a short scene for a blog post when the story first came out, though I seem to have lost my copy and the link.

In the meantime, here are a few things to think about for issues Drew and his ghostly lover might have. These were previously posted in 2014 over on RJ Scott’s blog when I was a guest there.

Here are a few of the sorts of dilemmas Drew will have to put up with.

Matchmaking work colleagues who think he’s single, little knowing that Drew’s ghostly lover is lurking nearby and not too happy at someone else getting close to his man. Never having a date for parties, or having a date who no one else can see. Eating out in a restaurant with a ghost as your companion, while everyone present thinks you’re dining alone. Pitying glances or interruptions from those who want to keep him company are just two possibilities. Going on holiday and having to pay the singles excess charge even though your ghostly lover is travelling with you.

And then there is the fact that Drew is alive and mortal and continues to age, while Benji is eternally youthful.

At the time they get together they are very similar in age, but what about in ten years time, or forty years time? For Drew, he would have to wonder whether Benji will still be interested him years down the line, or whether he might want to move on to someone nearer his own age. When Drew is older, will he be able to keep up with Benji at all? I imagine the path of true love when your lover is a ghost could be even rockier than for two mortals.

Like I said, Touch of a Ghost is a story that stands on its own with no sequels, but I do feel the possibilities are there for Drew and Benji to be revisited at some time in the future.

There are a lot of possibilities there if I ever did wish to revisit Benji and Drew.

I would also say that although I truly love all my covers, this one is quite possibly my favourite. This is such a good likeness for how I see this character, when Breathless Press (the second publisher of the story) went out of business I purchased the cover for use with the re-release through Fireborn Publishing.  I am forever grateful to Victoria Miller for this wonderful work of art.

2 responses to “B is for Benji

  1. This is the first book of yours I read because this is absolutely my MOST favorite situation: ghost lover. Seriously, the fastest way to get me to buy a book, besides ones by my favorite author is to mention a ghost love interest. I can’t even tell you where I got the craving. Too much Casper (the movie) growing up? Probably!

    Long-winded way of saying that as soon as I saw what this blog post was about, I was all eyes! I know there are very (corpo)real [hee hee!] roadblocks for a couple when one’s a ghost, but it doesn’t make me believe any less in their HEA. If you ever do more with these two, you’ve already got a sale. 😀

  2. Thank you, Carolyn. You have no idea how much it means to me to hear from someone who has enjoyed one of my stories.

    I loved the Casper movie too, though have to admit I was already an adult when it was released. 🙂

Share your thoughts

